One To Savor

3 Oct

Well, this is it.  Today is game number 162, the last game of the Philadelphia Phillies 2012 baseball season.

 Yes, we thought there would be more games to cheer.

 Yes, we expected another “Red October.”

 Yes, we hoped for a long playoff run.

 And yes, we even dreamed of a parade down Broad Street.

 But, no, that was not meant to be.

All those hopes and dreams will just have to wait for next year.

We’ll have the whole long off-season to try to put this season into perspective.  To agonize over what went wrong and hope that Ruben can make things right.

But for now let me quote Bob Segar when I say,

“We still have tonight.”

And I don’t know about you but I plan to savor this last game.  After all, it has to hold us over for a long time.  I don’t mean I’m going to keep a scorecard or worry about who gets hits and who strikes out.  I’m not even going to worry about who wins.  (Well, I’m not sure about that one.  Cliff Lee deserves every win he can get!)

I’m just going to try to enjoy my favorite sport of baseball and appreciate all the enjoyment it has given me over the years. We’ll open a bottle of champagne (got that, my partner in life and baseball?) and drink a toast or two to the game we love.

Instead of just being bummed out and disappointed that the season’s over, let’s make this final game a celebration.  Let’s toast to the many joys this great game has given us and not just this season.  (That would barely give us a buzz.)  No, instead let’s raise our glasses to all of our priceless baseball memories.

We’ll drink to World Series victories and Playoff no-hitters.

We’ll toast perfect seasons and walk-off wins.

We’ll drink to moonshot home runs and nasty sliders.

 To a catcher we call Chooooooch and even our old friend Rauuuuuuul.

 And we’ll certainly throw in a toast to the magic doctor Chase found in Arizona and another one hoping that the Doc finds a doctor of his own.

But mostly we’ll just toast baseball, this game that creates bonds, friendships and even brings people closer together.

Wherever my family has traveled, from Brooklyn to Los Angeles, from Las Vegas to New Orleans, baseball has always been our shared passion, our common bond.

So I hope that you too, all of my wonderful blog readers and fellow baseball fans, will share a bottle of bubbly today and join us as we drink a toast to America’s National Pastime.

 And you can be sure, that wherever you are, my final toast will be to all of you.

 Cheers!

 Take us home, Pete.

 We’ve got tonight, who needs tomorrow?

We’ve got tonight, yeah,

So let’s watch them play.

 (Yes, I know it’s a 1:00 game, but what’s better than a little buzz in the afternoon!)

8 Responses to “One To Savor”

  1. Sue Rothstein October 3, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    Thanks for your entertaining blog all season. I really was hoping for a knock down drag out fight in a one game playoff between the Phillies and the Braves that would have kept my heart pumping wildly throughout, but it is not to be. Perhaps you’ll cheer the Braves on now….maybe?

    • girlsbestphriend October 3, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

      Thanks for reading and for your nice note, Sue! As for cheering on the Braves? Not so sure about that one but after last year’s ending, you guys deserved a break. And you have that last year for Chipper thing going for you.

      Good luck!

  2. Drew October 3, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    Thanks for another great blogging season Mom! While I won’t miss all the Philly-loss updates on my phone, I will def miss this excellent blog. Thanks for keeping me updated and entertained all season!
    xo

    • girlsbestphriend October 3, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

      Thanks for reading all season long my dear daughter! I know your life is crazy but as a fellow creative your support means the world to me. xo

  3. geetie cohen October 3, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    Missing baseball is a given, although this season I welcome the final game. I’ll miss the blog big TIME , it gave me lots of pleasure and a few tears. Enjoy the game today,I’ll join you in that.

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler October 3, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

      Thanks, Mom! And thanks for your constant unwavering support of the Phillies, and ME!

  4. Natalie October 4, 2012 at 1:03 am #

    Thanks for another great season of blogging about the Phillies looking forward to a great year next year. Until then, go Eagles
    Natalie

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler October 4, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

      Hey thanks, Natalie. I really appreciate your sticking with me (and the Phils!) Have a great Fall.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

