Two Weeks Till Pitchers and Catchers…

31 Jan

Hi and welcome to Girls Best Phriend.  But, if you are here to read about the cut, carat and clarity of that sparkly carbon gemstone you have come to the wrong place.  No, this diamond is the one at the heart of America’s favorite pastime; it’s the one that goes best with hot dogs and cold beer; and it’s the one where there’s no crying allowed.  That’s right.  It’s all about this girl’s best friend.  This blog is devoted to baseball.

And while I invite any and all fans to read my blog, it is especially intended for those women out there who, like me, wake up every morning counting the days to Spring Training; for all you ladies, like me, who have the Fab Four on Mt. Rushmore (and I don’t mean the Beatles) as your screen saver (Thanks, Spencie!); for all the female fans who love the game as much or more than the men in their lives.  This blog is for all of you!

So with two weeks until Spring Training, I thought it appropriate to devote my first entry to memories of going to my very first baseball game.  I don’t remember the date or the year but it was at Connie Mack Stadium!  No, I didn’t see Babe Ruth but, yes, I have been a fan for a LONG time.  I went with my Mom and my grandfather, just the three of us which was special in itself.  You see I have three sisters, but they just took me to the game.

I was an avid baseball fan even as a child.  When I was only 8 years old I used to rush outside every morning to grab the newspaper, still wet in its plastic bag, so I could read the sports page before school.  I used to hide my red transistor radio under my pillow when my parents came in to say goodnight so I could listen quietly to the Phillies games when I was supposed to be sleeping.  My only dream for two full years was to be a Hot Pants girl at the brand new Veterans Stadium so I could see all the Phillies games for free.  But I digress.

Back to my first game.  Now while I don’t remember the score or all of the game details what I will always remember is my first magical look at the field.  It was just so unbelievably green and so big with the white of the chalk lines so bright against all that green.  Having seen it on tv so many times for so many years, seeing it in person was truly like a dream.  And even though I’ve been lucky enough to attend many baseball games since then, my first look at the field still thrills me every time and I hope it always will.

I remember a couple other things from that first game.  Cookie Rojas was my Mom’s favorite player and he got a big hit in the game and Ruben Amaro, Sr. was the Phillies shortstop in those days and he stole a base.  Pretty funny.  The father stole bases then and the son steals pitchers now!     

Anyway, my love affair with the game has continued unabated for 45 years now with no end in sight.  And I hope all my fellow female fans will share their baseball stories, too. This blog is my antidote to all that male sportstalk radio out there.  I mean do I have to listen to penis enlargement ads and hear the latest offers from Club Risque when  I just want to get the latest hot stove reports?

Well, not anymore.  Get your baseball fix, stripper free, right here on a Girl’s Best Phriend. And please share your stories and your comments and tell me what you think.  So as I finish my first entry and look out my widow there is snow everywhere and even more in the forecast.  Sure doesn’t feel like baseball weather.  But hey, did I mention, it’s only two weeks till pitchers and catchers report???


18 Responses to “Two Weeks Till Pitchers and Catchers…”

  1. Fern Zeigler February 1, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    well, as you know, I don’t keep up with the game, but your enthusiasm may inspire me! Great writing non-the-less Susan! Fern

  2. Hal Rosenbluth February 1, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Congratulations!!! as a Phe”male” I love your blog.

    • girlsbestphriend February 2, 2011 at 1:49 am #

      And I love your new word. Hope you don’t mind if I steal it!

      scd

  3. Nicole Monte February 1, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Great blog, Susan! What a nice reminder of summer and all of its’ fun- especially when we are staring down 2 days of miserable, icy weather! I saw my first game when I was 8 years old. We lived in Boston, and my dad took me to see the Red Sox at Fenway Park. It was a night game, and I thought it was so exciting- the cheering, the lights, the city at night.

    I only went to a few other games after that, but when I was in college, my boyfriend dragged me to Yankee Stadium on a beautiful spring day, and I had an experience that was similar to yours. I was shocked when I walked in to see that gorgeous green field! And I loved sitting in the sunshine, drinking a beer and having a hot dog. After that, I started going to games a lot, even though I would not describe myself as a huge fan. But my boys loves baseball, and there’s nothing better than going to Citizen’s Bank Park together on a beautiful afternoon.

    Good luck with the blog- I look forward to reading more!

    • girlsbestphriend February 2, 2011 at 2:01 am #

      Hey Nicole,
      Thanks so much for taking the time to share your story. One of the things I love about baseball are the family bonds that it creates. I hope you and your boys are all well!

      scd

  4. Natalie Bennett February 1, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    I was a sophmore in high school when the Phillies won in 1980 and I still remember going out with my friend Holly, her sister Susan and her sister’s boyfriend, Jan, in a car with a funky sunroof and driving around on West Chester Pike, and honking the horn, waving at all the other fans, and just taking in all of the excitement that night. Now I have an 8 year old who is a superfan and we are planning a vacation around where we can see the Phillies play out of town!
    Thanks Susan!

    • girlsbestphriend February 2, 2011 at 2:08 am #

      Natalie!!
      How great to hear from you. And I totally remember that! That car did have a funky sunroof. I wonder what ever happened to that Jan guy…

      scd

  5. marlyn February 1, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    I am always counting the days till spring training as soon as the last out of the world series is recorded Of course it’s nice to have football season, but after this weekend i am in serious withdrawal. I live in Los Angeles so I think Dodger Stadium is a little bit of heaven on earth. But I started as a Phillies phan and have loved baseball on and off for most of my life. I attended the 1980 World Series winning game, thanks to my wonderful Aunt Anita and Uncle Fred. That remains one of my best memories ever.
    I’ll be watching that great staff. I still think the Giants have a pretty good staff too.
    The Dodgers? Rebuilding? Self destructing? With every spring there is always a chance for a great season.

    • girlsbestphriend February 2, 2011 at 2:15 am #

      I agree. I love that, too. Every year’s a clean slate and then of course, there’s always next year…

      Thanks, Mar.

  6. Margaret Chavez February 1, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    Great blog, Susan! Your description of the field is so right on, I can see it in my mind’s eye (which is pretty incredible, since sometimes I feel like my mind’s eye has a cataract!) I took my now deceased mom and kids to see a Dodger game here in L A, where I’m happy to say, IS experiencing some spring type weather (I know, I know), and we had seats that were about in the 8th row above Dodger dugout. The green was truer than I thought possible!
    I had a chance to meet Drew, very briefly. I wish I could have spent more time with her, as I could tell she’s a lovely person!!
    Write on!!
    Margaret

  7. Erin dickler February 2, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    Great stuff, growing up in southern California (where we never have snow days) we had so much joy with both the Angels and the Dodgers. We had the joys of Rod Carew and Bert Blyleven being great athletes and living in the neighborhood. My mom and dad love baseball and I forgot till getting to spend time with them last couple of years. Thanks for reminding me Sue.

    • girlsbestphriend February 3, 2011 at 12:51 am #

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Er. Baseball is a great connection between generations up and down.

  8. gert cohen February 3, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    I’d like to receive notice of new bestphriends blogs.

  9. banyanjd February 4, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    oddly entertaining

Leave a Reply

