A Sign from the Baseball Gods

2 Feb

First of all, thanks to everyone who read and responded to my first post.  And an extra thank you to those of you who passed it on to your ph/friends.  Keep it up!  I especially appreciate those who posted comments on the site and shared their stories with everyone  since one of my goals for this blog is to establish a community of readers/fans.  So keep the comments coming.  And if you want to share just with me, that’s OK, too.  Don’t worry, if I use your comments in a future blog, I’ll change your name :).

As day two of my blogventure dawns, my husband Jan is at the airport heading to Las Vegas on business.  He’s standing blearily in the security line when he notices standing right in front of him none other than Charlie Manuel!  I kid you not.  I heard him on with Anthony and Glen last week saying he was heading to Florida in early February and there he was.  Now my normally gregarious husband was too awe-struck to speak to the affable Phillies manager but he was able to stop his hands from shaking long enough to text in this report from the scene:

“It’s always interesting to see Charlie Manuel not in a uniform.  He’s huge.  It was 6:10 am and you could still hear the crowd buzz with a wave of awareness, especially the TSA workers.  Charlie was oblivious to the reaction and just lumbered on through the x-ray machine.”

Thanks, Jan.  But next time, get me a quote.  Come on, man.

So even though the deep freeze continues here in the East, if Charlie’s on his way to Spring Training, can the team be far behind?  Of course, Roy Halladay will be there at Bright House Field to greet his manager.  He has been training there since early December.

Hey, while Jan’s in Vegas I’ll get some odds for the Phils season for my next post.  Things like odds for the Phils to win the World Series, or odds for them to win the National League Championship.

I wonder what the odds are that Jan will talk to Charlie next time he sees him…

4 Responses to “A Sign from the Baseball Gods”

  1. geetie cohen February 3, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    With this blog, that I so enjoy, and that groundhog I’m starting to believe that Spring will come.I do remember some opening day games under blankets

    • Lea Dickler February 5, 2011 at 12:16 am #

      I really enjoy your blog. It brings a little sunshine into my apt. Keep up the good work!!!

      • girlsbestphriend February 5, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

        With fan/readers like my Moms above you can see where my passion come from!

        Thanks!
        xo

  2. Lea Dickler February 5, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    Yeah SCD!!!!

Leave a Reply

