The Team to Beat?

4 Feb

As I sit here watching Mike and Mike this morning all the talk is of the Super Bowl.  But with only 10 days till Spring Training I promised you some baseball odds so here they are courtesy of the MGM Resorts International Sports Book in Las Vegas.

As of 1-26-11 the odds for several notable teams to win the 2011 Baseball World Series are:

Phillies     5/2

Yankees    4/1

Red Sox 7/2

Giants (2010 Champions) 8/1

And since I know we have some LA readers:

Dodgers    30/1 (I don’t make the odds,  I’m just reporting them!)

But don’t feel so bad.  Last year the Giants’ odds were 25/1 to win the 2010 World Series and the Yankees were 2/1 favorites and we all know how that turned out.

And in one final odds note, our friends in the western part of Pennsylvania better hope for a Steelers victory on Sunday because the Buccos odds to win  the World Series this year?

Pirates     150/1

As my people would say, “Oy vey.”

(By the way, I hope you noticed my attempt to match the teams to their uniform colors.  A blog is a dangerous thing!)

So although calculating gambling odds isn’t my strong point, I think that makes the Phillies a slight favorite to win the World Series going into Spring Training.  Now of course these odds can and will change and I don’t know about you but I, for one, really hope that they do.  Why you may ask would I not want my beloved Phillies to be the favorite to win it all?

Well, I much prefer the role of the underdog.  Then if you win, you’re ecstatic and if you lose it’s not quite so bad since no one really thought you’d win anyway.  But when you’re the favorite, you’re supposed to win and most of the national fans and media are secretly or openly rooting against you.

While the Yankees and their fans have learned to relish the role of the favorite for those of us who have lived in Philadelphia our whole lives, (or most other cities for that matter,) being the frontrunner is not a familiar or comfortable position to be in.  And let’s face it, being the favorite is no guarantee.  The record books are littered with teams that “had it all” but for some reason, injuries, chemistry, even hemorrhoids–it just didn’t come together at the right time.

So am I saying that I’m sorry the only question about the Phillies’ pitching rotation is which of them will win the Cy Young this year?  Am I worried that the biggest debate going into the season is whether (or when) the Phils will go over 100 wins?  Am I  upset that my team is, to quote J-Roll, “the team to beat” yet again and that according to Vegas the Phils are the favorite to win it all?

You know what?  On second thought, I think I can get used to it.


3 Responses to “The Team to Beat?”

  1. geetie cohen February 4, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    In other words you don’t want any”kaynahorahs”

  2. marlyn February 4, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    remember the Jets vs. New England?
    Nobody picked them. Play the season,
    then we’ll talk

    • girlsbestphriend February 5, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      I know. That’s my point. It can look great on paper but that’s why they play the games. (Thanks for taking care of my baby!)

Leave a Reply

