Super Sunday for a Baseball Fan

6 Feb

Although the subject of my blog is baseball, today is Super Sunday.  And unless you live in a cave without a flat screen tv, there’s been no escaping the massive Super Bowl hype. With two whole weeks to kill before the big game everything has been analyzed from Roethlisberger and Rogers’ passing styles to Mathews and Polamalu’s hair styles!

Now don’t worry.  I am not foolish enough to think that I can (or should) add any football expertise to this dialogue.  You will find no discussion here of the merits of the 3-4 defense versus the 4-3.  Instead, in honor of the Super Bowl, the last football game of the year, with apologies to David Letterman, I humbly present:

The Top 5 Things This Baseball Fan Will Miss When Football Season Is Over

Number 5. I’ll miss sportstalk radio after a classic Eagles loss.  Now don’t get me wrong all you Eagles fans out there.  I don’t root for the Eagles to lose, but there is nothing quite as entertaining on a cold Monday morning than angry Eagles fans colorfully expressing their displeasure.

Number 4. I’ll miss Mike and Mike’s stone cold lead pipe locks.  (Mike Greenberg and Mike Golic on ESPN radio in the morning’s unique way of  sharing their football picks for the week.) They do a radio show on tv but somehow it works.

Number 3. I’ll miss Sunday Night Football.  I really do like having a football game to look forward to on a Sunday night.  It’s a good way to put off thinking about your work problems just a little bit longer.  (See, I do like football.)

Number 2. I’ll miss Monday Night Football’s  “Come on, Man” segment where the MNF team humorously highlights players who had, let’s call them, less than stellar moments in Sunday’s games.   What?  You’ve never seen it?  Come on, Man!

But the number 1 thing this baseball fan will miss now that football season is over is the post-game Andy Reid press conference.  Listening to those same stock answers game after game, week after week, “I’ve got to do a better job with that,” “I need to put players in a better position to make plays,” He did a nice job.”  Whatever the reporters questions the answers are the same.  While he somehow manages to do it with a straight face, it never fails to make me smile.

But who doesn’t love Super Sunday? As I sit here writing, the FOX pre-game show is on, (right now they’re making Super Bowl recipes with Ritz crackers,) Jan’s chili is cooking away, and I’m about to fill out this year’s pool.  Will Christina Aguilera’s rendition of the National Anthem be longer than 1:40?

And I almost forgot, the best thing about the end of football season is that baseball season can’t be far behind.  Phillies pitchers and catchers report one week from today!

So thanks for reading and enjoy the game.

The time is yours.

4 Responses to “Super Sunday for a Baseball Fan”

  1. geetie February 6, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    My favorite thing about Super Bowl Sunday is that it’s the lead in for GLEE !!!

  2. Drew February 8, 2011 at 1:43 am #

    Love this! I’ll miss the dancing/stomping football robot on Fox.

Leave a Reply

