My Spring Training Wish List

8 Feb

As I’m writing this post it’s  4:30 in the morning and I can’t sleep.  You know what I do when I can’t sleep?  I can’t believe I’m actually sharing this but I go through the Phillies starting line-up in my head.  Then I name all the pitchers, first the starters then the relievers; then I move on to the the bench players until I’ve named the whole 25 man roster.  Or projected roster at this point.

Then if I’m still up I go back a few years and try to name line-ups from the past, like the 1993 team or 1980.  OK, you get the idea.  I know it sounds crazy but I guess it’s my version of counting sheep.  (I never got that sheep thing.)  But last night when I got to Glenn Wilson and  I was still up, even I knew that was enough so I decided to make better use of my time and write today’s post.

I read this article a couple of days ago (thanks, Mom) about all the gear and supplies that get packed up on the trucks headed down to Spring Training.  In case you didn’t see it here are just some of the highlights:

  • 15 cases of gum
  • 12 cases of sunflower seeds
  • 450 pairs of socks
  • 300 helmets
  • 600 hats
  • 15,ooo baseballs

And that’s only part of the list.  They certainly want to have their bases covered  (sorry) so if they might need it, they pack it up and bring it down.  But it got me to thinking about what I hope they’ll bring back from Spring Training.  Here are some ideas:

  • a right-handed bat (or two) to hit behind Ryan Howard
  • the 2008 Brad Lidge
  • a motivating J-Roll rallying cry like, “We’re the team to beat.”
  • now that Jayson Werth is gone a lot less facial hair
  • a healthy Chase Utley and Ryan Howard
  • some of that Florida sunshine!
  • a LOT fewer baseballs hoping that many will be left in the Bright House Field parking lot due to the Phillies’ bats power surge
  • a new post game ritual so we can forever retire the shaving cream pie
  • who cares what they bring back,  just get back here and Play Ball!

Please feel free to add to my list.  I’m going back to bed.

One Response to “My Spring Training Wish List”

  1. Lea Dickler February 17, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Hey, I just read your whole blog up to this. I can’t pull myself away from the computer. You are soo dedicated!!!! I think You shoud send your blog to the Inquire. I love reading it and so woulf a lot of others.

Leave a Reply

