Don’t Miss the Journey

11 Feb

My son fouled out of his basketball game last night.  He’s been playing basketball for almost 10 years now and he has never fouled out of a game before, not pee-wee, not club, not Middle School, not Maccabi.  Now don’t get me started on the ref.  I mean there was hardly any contact on at least 2 of those fouls and he definitely took the charge.  It was textbook. His feet were planted a full two seconds before…   Somebody stop me here.

My point?  Oh yeah.  My point is that in sports, all sports, you just never know what will happen.  And it’s often not what you expect.  (Tell that to my wonderful brother-in-law who drove an hour last night to see his nephew play basketball. Sorry Phil.)  In fact that’s one of the things I really love about sports.  The unexpected hero, the stunning upset.

And what, I can hear you asking, does this have to do with the Phillies?  Well, we’ve all heard the predictions for the year ahead most ending with a World Series victory. Yesterday I even heard someone say they’d have 111 wins.  111 wins?  In fact, the prevailing attitude is that if the Phillies don’t win the World Series this year, some say even sweep it!, the season will have been a disappointment.

I understand that thinking.  The Phils will most likely be the favorites of many national and local prognosticators going into the season.  But as my foul-happy son proved last night, in sports anything can happen and often does.  (See how it all comes together now?)   So I don’t know about you but I’m not ready to think about the World Series yet.

I’m ready to think about the first Spring Training game.  Then there’s Opening Day, Cliff Lee’s first start back in a Phillies uniform, Ryan Howard’s first moon shot, Chase Utley scoring from first on a single because no one’s paying attention, Brad Lidge’s first 1-2-3 save.  (Ok, a girl can dream.)

What I’m saying is that I don’t want to wish the season away.  My vow on this Friday, two days before Spring Training, is to enjoy every pitch, every strikeout, every home run .  I vow to enjoy every Mets series, every game against the World Champion Giants, every Charlie Manuel post game press conference.  I vow to sing “High Hopes” at the top of my lungs after every win even when I’m watching in my living room and to lose sleep after a bad loss.

So come on, put on your Phils cap, raise your right hand and repeat after me:

We promise not to worry about the destination right now so we can all enjoy the glorious 162 game journey that lies ahead.

OK, I’m going to hold you to that.

And Uncle Phil, Spencer says,  “You just wait till next year…”

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Don’t Miss the Journey”

  1. Noak February 11, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    LOVE the blog!! You hit one outta here with this post. It IS all about the experience…

    P.S. Here’s hoping that ref experiences an eye exam sometime soon!

    • girlsbestphriend February 12, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

      Thanks, Noa! There’s no crying in basketball, right?

Leave a Reply

