The Gang’s All Here

19 Feb

For a spring training drill, Yogi Berra instructed his players to:  “Pair off in threes.”

Let the drills begin!  Today marks the next milestone in this long-anticipated season, the first full team work-out.  While yesterday was the day everyone had to report to Clearwater, I like that most of the Phillies starters were already there.

In an age when many “superstars” try to avoid training camps and practice (“You talkin’ about practice?,”) on this team, even the biggest stars came early.  Ryan Howard, Jimmy Rollins, Shane Victorino and Chase Utley were all there working out before the bell.

I like that.

I like that Ryan Howard said he couldn’t even watch that last called strike from the NLCS.  He didn’t have to.                                                                                                                 “It took a while to let it go.  I had a sick feeling in my stomach.  (It’s one reason) I was really excited and rarin’ to go, to get ready for this year.”

I like that in a city where one team’s president continually frustrates fans with statements like his recent assertion that the Eagles are more successful than the Pittsburgh Steelers, Phils President David Montgomery credits fans for everything from Cliff Lee’s return to the team’s recent success.

While some complained that after all the hype, the Fab Four (and Joe) press conference was pretty low key, that’s fine with me.  This is a team that does its talking on the field, not in the press.

I like that.

I like that a team that might feel it has nothing to prove, after 4 straight Division Championships, 1 World Series win and 2 straight WS appearances, feels they still have everything to prove.  Not just to the fans, but to themselves.

It can be hard to be likable when you’re the favorites.  Just ask the Yankees.  But this team with its hard-working blue collar style and play till the final out attitude is a perfect match for this city.

I like that.

And as Spring Training moves on (at a snail’s pace it seems) it is clear that this team is as anxious as its fans for the hype to end and the games to begin.

And I like that just fine.

3 Responses to “The Gang’s All Here”

  1. geetie February 19, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    “I like that” I read your blog and then The inquirer sports. I’m sure they must also read you first.

  2. Lea Dickler February 20, 2011 at 2:52 am #

    I like everything you said!!! You go girl!!! ARE YOU READY TO WATCH BASEBALL???
    I AM!!!

  3. Alan Dickler February 21, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    I like that

Leave a Reply

