My New Hero!

15 Mar

SPECIAL BLOG ANNOUNCEMENT:  Now, it’s easier than ever to subscribe to girls best phriend! If you look to the right of the words you are reading you will see my new subscription button.  Just click on ‘sign me up!’  And if you act now, you’ll also receive…well, I really don’t have anything to give you except my undying gratitude.  Sorry.

Yes, I know this is supposed to be a Phillies Blog and it is but there’s nothing much new to report in Phils-ville, at least nothing good.  Utley’s still out now joined by Brad Lidge.  I didn’t know tendonitis was contagious.

So I’m using my blogger’s license to tell you about my new sports inspiration:  Doug Collins.  Now if you haven’t yet tuned in to this year’s Sixers team (and many have not,) you don’t know what you’re missing.  And it’s not just the game.  There is no better television on the air today, bar none, than the Doug Collins post-game Press Conference.

Half-way through the 4th quarter my basketball-playing son and I start talking about what Doug will say tonight.  And if it’s a close game, win or lose, Mr. Collins is must-see tv.  His mix of knowledge of and passion for the game is contagious.  Plus he treats the media with respect and actually answers their questions.  What a concept!

In fact, I sometimes DVR the post game show just so I can see my man Doug at the podium.  And it’s worth it.  I never fail to learn something about the game and usually get a laugh or two along the way.

Many long-time basketball analysts wondered why Collins would return to the pressures of coaching at this point in his life but if they could see him at the podium, adrenaline still pumping, smiling, rocking back and forth as he answers question after question they would certainly understand.  Just ask Doug:

“I’m having a blast.  I love (these players.)  They’re the nicest group of men I’ve ever been around in my entire life as a team.  Absolutely all for one.  They’re terrific.”

“You know I can get upset at them, they know I just love them and they come back fighting and I appreciate that.  I love being with my guys win or lose, win or lose.”

And when asked recently after a big win against the Celtics about having to get on a plane for a tough road trip?

“Anytime you get on that flight with a win, there’s nothing like it.  I won’t even need the plane tonight.”

Keep on flying, Doug.  And take us with you!

2 Responses to “My New Hero!”

  1. banyanjd March 15, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    but does Doug ever get ‘frustulated’ ?

  2. girlsbestphriend March 15, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    Aaah, I think that one’s all Charlie.

Leave a Reply

