Take Me Out to the Ballgame

22 Mar

OK, so after my rant about GQ and the “Panic List” I thought you could use a laugh.  I know I can.  So for today’s post, I’ve found some classic baseball quotes guaranteed to give you a smile.

 

Take me out to the ballgame.  Take me out to the crowd.


“I believe in the Church of Baseball.  I’ve tried all the major religions, and most of the minor ones.  I’ve worshipped Buddha, Brahma, Vishnu, Siva, trees, mushrooms and Isadora Duncan.  I’ve tried ’em all and the only church that truly feeds the soul, day in, day out, is the Church of Baseball.” –Annie Savoy in Bull Durham


“Baseball is ninety percent mental and the other half is physical. –Yogi Berra


Buy me some peanuts and cracker jacks,


“A hot dog at the ball game beats roast beef at the Ritz.”                                           –Humphrey Bogart


I don’t care if I never get back,


“Baseball, it is said, is only a game.  True.  And the Grand Canyon is only a hole in Arizona.” –George F. Will


“If a horse can’t eat it, I don’t want to play on it.”                                                     –Dick Allen on artificial turf


So it’s root, root, root, for the home team.  If they don’t win it’s a shame.


“What are we at the park for except to win?  I’d trip my mother.  I’d help her up, brush her off, tell her I’m sorry.  But mother don’t make it to third.”                                                                                                                     –Leo Durocher


“The greatest feeling in the world is to win a major league game.  The second-greatest feeling is to lose a major league game. ”                                      –Chuck Tanner


For it’s one, two, three strikes you’re out,


“Nolan Ryan is pitching much better now that he has his curve ball straightened out.” –Joe Garagiola


“I’ve come to the conclusion that the two most important things in life are good friends and a good bullpen.”                                                                                –Bob Lemon


“I was such a dangerous hitter I even got intentional walks in batting practice.”                                                                                                                                     –Casey Stengel


At the old ball game.


“Why does everybody stand up and sing “Take Me Out to the Ballgame” when they’re already there?”                                                                                                           –Larry Anderson









3 Responses to “Take Me Out to the Ballgame”

  1. frumi March 22, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    You rock. Loved the quotes…especially the horse one. And the hole in Arizona too. Keep writing, it’s fabulous.
    fc

    • girlsbestphriend March 22, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

      Thanks for reading! Check out some of the earlier posts if you have time.

  2. Lea Dickler March 23, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    THAT WAS GREAT!!!! i FOUND MYSELF SINGING RIGHT ALON WITH YOU.

Leave a Reply

