Thoughts On the First Week-End of Baseball

4 Apr

Baseball’s back!  And you couldn’t have scripted the Phillies first week-end any better.

After all that anticipation over the Fab Four, all that angst about Utley’s knee and Brad’s shoulder and all that talk about ‘historic seasons,’ could anything possibly live up to all the hype?

Well, actually, Yes!  And no one was more excited for this season to finally begin than my viewing companion.

GIRLS OTHER BEST PHRIEND READY FOR BASEBALL!

So as we take a breath on this off-day, here are some thoughts from the 0pening week-end.

Even watching at home on my couch I could feel the excitement at the stadium.  Apparently it was the largest week-end attendance ever for a 3 game series and I think I could  hear every one of them!

The fan reaction to Cliff Lee, in particular, was off the charts.  I mean how many people can say they got a :30 second standing ovation for striking out?

And here’s a cool stat courtesy of a good friend and loyal reader.  This was the first time the Phils have swept a team at home to start the season since 1899!  (Think anyone was blogging then?)  For the record they swept the Washington Senators.  (Thanks, Hal!)

As Jimmy Rollins goes, the Phillies go.  And how did J-Roll ‘go’ this first week-end of his contract year?  Well, only 6 hits and 2 walks in 12 at bats.  He also scored 4 runs and threw in a stolen base along the way.  Now I’m not saying he’ll bat .500 all year but to say he started strong would be an understatement.

It’s always fun seeing ‘firsts’ and seeing Michael Martinez get his first major league hit (and an rbi) was no exception.  I love that the umpire made sure to get the ball and threw it into the Phils dugout for Michael to keep.  I wonder where that ball is today???

For me a favorite moment was when Ryan Howard hit his first home run.  I happened to be on the phone in another room (please don’t call me during the games, just tweet!) and my son came running in screaming, jumping up and down and reenacting it for me.  And my son isn’t the only Ryan Howard fan in our family.

“I LOVE YOU, MAN”

 

Although it’s definitely still a developing skill, I enjoyed sticking my toe into the world of Twitter.  So far I’m following Jayson Stark, Leslie Gudel, and Jimmy Rollins!  Don’t forget you can follow me by just clicking on the link to the right. (Drew, and that means, you!  You got me into this mess.)

And one other week-end highlight I have to include is a shout out to the Philadelphia 76’ers for making the play-offs!   OK, so it’s not baseball but it is Philly sports and NO ONE predicted they would have a year like this. So,

“Clap Your Hands, Everybody.  For Philadelphia, 76’ers.”

But perhaps my favorite moment from this glorious back to baseball week-end was hearing the fans singing “High Hopes” in the background while Sarge interviewed Ben Francisco post game on Sunday. No one would have enjoyed this week-end more than Harry.

Well no one, that is, except Girls Other Best Phriend.

DREAMING OF CHAMPIONSHIP PARADES

 

Sweet Dreams!


5 Responses to “Thoughts On the First Week-End of Baseball”

  1. Valerie April 4, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    It looks like Tito has missed Ryan Howard just as much as the rest of us.
    Go Phillies!

  2. Hal Rosenbluth April 4, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    If history were to repeat itself (let’s hope that’s not true) it will be the year 2123 before the Phillies sweep a home opening three game series again. By that time I’ll have been dead for at least 90 years. I’m wondering if my great grandfather took by grandfather to the opening game against the Senators?

    • girlsbestphriend April 4, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

      I’m gong to say, Yes. But the big question: Will we even be going to the games in 2123 or just see them via skype???

  3. marlyn April 5, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    I saw the ninth inning win on opening day in vegas and watched the end of the cliff lee game. Did I mention i am loving him from afar. wow!!!
    dodgers had a good start too; 3 out of 4 from the dreaded giants ( philly fans will be with me on that one)
    but on a sad note two giants fans were beat up at dodger stadium after the home opener. REALLY!!! REALLY baseball fans this is not what lovers of the game do. Let this never happen again in any stadium. Someday i want to visit every ballpark and i do not want to fear for my life. come on now. lets agree to love our teams but respect fans of all kinds. can we please.

    • girlsbestphriend April 5, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

      Beautifully said, Mar. Thank you!

      And thanks to your Dodgers for beating those Giants.

Leave a Reply

