Why Is This Phillies Fan Smiling?

18 Apr

OFF THE FIELD:

Girls Best Phriend will be out-of-town next week through Friday.  

I will try to post an entry or two while I am gone.

But I will warn you, I am told that the internet connection will be weak and the rum punches will be strong.  

HEY, ANYONE HAVE A SLINGBOX?


ON THE FIELD:

Well, it’s certainly hard to complain about where the Phillies are today:  sitting pretty in first place with a 10-4 record.  Thanks to their terrific start I present:

The 10 Reasons I Can Leave for my Vacation with a Smile on my Face

10.)  Chase Utley is jogging.  I never would have thought that would be enough to put a smile on my face but it is.

 9.)  The offense is scoring runs even without the long ball.  They lead the NL East in runs scored and they’re tied for the NL lead in Team Batting Average at .298.

 8.)  The bullpen has performed better than expected so far.  Ryan Madson has been superb.  In 5 games he hasn’t given up any runs, only 2 hits and has 6 strikeouts.  For those playing along at home, that makes his ERA  0.00.  And Jose Contreras, despite a nail-biter of a 9th today, is  3 for 3 in save opportunities.  Not bad for a  guy many thought had seen his better days.

I BET CHARLIE COULD HAVE USED A COLD ONE DURING THAT NINTH!


7.)  Shane Victorino is performing very well in the leadoff spot batting .327, with 18 hits, 11 runs scored, and 8 RBI’s.

6.)  Placido Polanco and Jimmy Rollins are a great 2-3 punch!  Polanco, in his familiar number 2 hole, is batting a gaudy .373 with 22 hits (which leads the team), 7 runs scored, and 12 RBI’s.  Think his elbow is feeling better?

5.)  Jimmy Rollins filling in the critical number 3 spot in the order (until Chase can go from a jog to a sprint!) is batting .298 with 17 hits.  Although he just got his first RBI recently, he’s doing a great job of getting on base in front of Ryan Howard.  Rollins has also scored 10 runs, many driven in by Howard who leads the team with his 14 RBI’s.

4.)  Don’t forget to pack the sunscreen and my flip-flops.

Oooops, wrong list!


GOTTA REPRESENT


3.)  The Phillies lead the league in attendance so far this year, more than the Yankees, more than the Dodgers, more than the World Champion Giants.  Not sure why this makes me smile but it does.  You go, fans!

2.)  The Four Aces have been as advertised.  A combined 7-2 so far and Roy  Halladay leads all National League pitchers with a 1.23 ERA.  Can anyone say back-to-back Cy Young’s?

And the number 1 reason I can leave for my vacation with a smile on my face?

1.)  Because when I return there are still 141 glorious games to go!  (142 if we don’t have to wait forever for our luggage.)


HAVE A BALL WHILE I’M GONE!


Leave a Reply

