I’m Back!

23 Apr

Well although I tried (a little) the internet connection was not blog-worthy as I feared.  Sorry for the silence but believe me when I say that the withdrawal was harder on me than you.  (Although the rum punch did help get me through.)  And did I mention that I got a lovely tan?But enough about me!

While I wasn’t able to get all the game stats and details, being away did give me a chance to make some interesting observations and take some amusing photos.  I guess you’ll be the judge of how interesting (and amusing) as I share with you:

What I Learned on my Spring Vacation

IT IS BETTER IN THE BAHAMAS!


Yes, my Phillies would play on without me–alas, they could win or lose whether I was watching or not.  Now that’s a cold dose of reality.

The MLB iphone ap has an annoying tendency of cutting off at the most inopportune moments:  “The Phils have runners on first and third with two outs in the bottom of the 7th.  They’re down by two runs with Howard ahead in the count, 3-1.  Here’s the pitch.  He hits a long fly ball…..”    

Ah  well, nothing another rum punch won’t cure.  In fact, I think I had a rum-induced nightmare that Roy Halladay lost 9-0!  No more Bahama Mamas for me.

There are other things to do in the evenings besides watch baseball– like having a nice meal with your family and, and…    going to bed early.



LIFE'S A BEACH

I learned that you can actually eat conch for every meal:  conch omelette, conch chowder, conch fritters (my favorite) cracked conch.  I could go on but I’ll spare you.

Phillies fans are everywhere!!!

The only thing better than ESPN is, you guessed it, rum punch!

Tina Fey’s Bossypants is a really funny book.  

When you leave your dogs for 4 days, they leave something for you as well.  Need I say more?

     


                                                              

AS BEAUTIFUL AS A PERFECT GAME

And the last thing I learned is that going away on a family trip is great (thanks, Mom!)

But coming home when the Phillies have a West Coast game so we were cozy in our beds in time for the first pitch?  Priceless.

(Of course, we were asleep by the third inning but that’s what DVR is for.)

Thanks to my partner in life and Phillies fan-dom for the wonderful photos!


2 Responses to “I’m Back!”

  1. Fern Zeigler April 26, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    so funny. I am really enjoying your blog!

Leave a Reply

