What Made Me Cry

28 Apr

BEHIND THE BLOG:                                                                                                                                                                I was all set to go with a post today about the Phillies recent offensive woes.  I had the quotes, I had the stats, it was written in my head.  But then yesterday the Phils bats woke up in their 8-4 win against the Diamondbacks and somehow my post didn’t feel appropriate any more.  Unfortunately I’m sure I’ll have another opportunity to use it but not today.  So I ask you to bear with me as I write my final post for a while (I promise) about, you guessed it, Doug Collins.  But it’s really as much about life as it is about sport so give it a shot.   

The Philadelphia 76ers played their last game of the season last night.

And I hope you won’t think less of me if I admit I cried.

Although all the pundits had the Sixers losing to the Heat in a blow-out, they played like warriors giving a superstar-filled, highly favored Miami Heat team all they could handle and more.  They were in the game until the final seconds.  But it was just not meant to be.

But that’s not why I cried.

If they could have just converted a couple more foul shots down the stretch, they could have actually won the game forcing the Heat to a game 6 in Philadelphia.

But that’s not why I cried.

Always colorful (and I mean that literally) TNT sideline reporter Craig Sager changed from his pastel pink jacket to an equally garish checkered blue or was it purple?

But even that’s not why I cried.

After the game there were some emotional moments on the court,  one when Collins spoke to Sixers veteran forward Elton Brand who had fouled out of the game in the final seconds.  Collins thanked Brand for playing his heart out in this series and in fact the whole season, ” I told him I loved him and I’m so proud of him.  He’s got the heart of a lion.  He is one of the most ultimate pros I have ever been around.”

Nope, I didn’t cry then, either.

It was something Collins said when he addressed his team privately in the locker room after the game.  When asked later what was discussed,  if he talked about plans for next year, a clearly exhausted and emotional Collins said that this was not the time for that. Instead he looked at his players and told them to glance around the room.  Think about all you have accomplished together over the last 8 months, Collins told them.  Appreciate your teammates.  Savor the moment, because change is inevitable.

“Teams are never the same the next year,” Collins said later.  “There are changes made.  I’m big on being a teammate and understanding what it means to be on a team, and appreciate it, because some of the guys won’t be in this room next year.”

OK, so that’s when I cried.

Not because the 76ers lost a game everyone expected them to lose but because Doug Collins provided one of those teaching moments when life can learn from sport.  We’re all so anxious to get to the next thing, to move past life’s inevitable disappointments and reach the next goal, the next promotion,  the next finish line.  And in our haste, we often forget to take the time to look around and just appreciate the moment we are in right now, good or bad, to thank those people who may not be going on the next leg of our journey with us but who were there when we needed them today.

I know Doug inspires me to do a better job of thanking my team, my friends, my family.

So, I’ll start with you, my faithful blog readers.  Thanks for taking time out of your busy day to read Girls Best Phriend.  I enjoy writing it because I know you will be out there reading it.

Yes, there is crying in basketball.  Thanks, Doug.

See you next year.

7 Responses to “What Made Me Cry”

  1. frumi April 28, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    yeah. there is crying [and feeling] in everything if you do it mindfully and make time and space for it. Very nice piece. Why aren’t you going to write for a while?

    • girlsbestphriend April 29, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

      Well said, Frum. Oh, I’ll be writing, just not so much about the Sixers and my man Doug.

  2. Valerie April 29, 2011 at 1:46 am #

    so very well said and so true!

  3. Natalie April 29, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    ok, this made me cry.

    • girlsbestphriend April 29, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

      Hi Nat,
      I’lll take that as a compliment!

      • Natalie May 1, 2011 at 6:32 am #

        yup!

Leave a Reply

