Halladay Haiku

1 May


Today’s post is all about Roy.  But since he’s an unusual pitcher, I thought I’d try an unusual approach.  I’ve written several Haiku in his honor.  For those who may not remember the Haiku structure from grade school, they are Japanese poems composed of 17 sounds (or syllables) divided into 3 parts.  The first line has 5 sounds, the second has 7, and the third back to 5.  They don’t have to rhyme but they can.  They just have to be descriptive.

Why Haiku for Roy, I’m sure you’re asking?  Well, the idea behind the form is that it is meaningful but must be concise.  They’re short, sweet, and to the point.  Can you think of  better way to describe Roy’s pitching?

And OK, if you want full disclosure, I had sushi for dinner.  So here we go.

          A man of few words

          His arm does all the talking

         And not much walking.


     He was a Blue Jay

 Since Ruben brought him our way

 It’s a “Halladay.”


He throws complete games

And when nine inning are done

He goes for a run.

A Royal Wedding

Is all the rage but for me

Doc’s our royalty.


And in case you’re not a big fan of the Haiku, you must try the Spicy Tuna Sundaes at Blue Fin.

 I promise you’ll like those!


7 Responses to “Halladay Haiku”

  1. LJ May 1, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    Love these! One of my son’s youth baseball coaches (also a friend of ours and a brilliant attorney) “assigned” them to compose and bring a baseball haiku to every practice. I always thought that the rhythm of the game and the haiku were somehow similar.

    • girlsbestphriend May 1, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      Plus they’re fun to write. That coach sounds pretty cool. But did he teach them how to hit??? 🙂

  2. geetie May 1, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Not a better way
    To say hooray for you and
    Halliday in May

  3. geetie May 1, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Oops, I spelled it wrong
    Sorry Roy what can I say
    Halladay it is.

    • girlsbestphriend May 1, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

      NO worries. I LOVE the Haiku. You may see it o my next post!

  4. Fern Zeigler May 3, 2011 at 3:53 am #

    You are a riot!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

