My First Phillies Game

8 May

OK.  I  have a confession to make but first I want to wish a Happy Mothers Day to all the Moms out there (especially mine!)  I hope you all have a great day.  As I told you in an earlier entry, my Mom took me to my first Phillies game so if you don’t like my blog, I guess you can blame her!  (Just kidding, Mom.)

Now, to my confession.  I finally went to my first Phillies game of the year last night.  So about a week ago, my husband and I started trying to figure out who we’d see on the mound.  With this pitching staff, how can you lose, right?  Would it be Halladay or Lee or Hamels?  Then, according to the Phillies website, Roy Oswalt was listed as the probable starter.

We were excited that we’d get to see him in his first game back after his trip home.  But I guess the key word here was ‘probable.‘  As we all know, Oswalt hurt his back so Kyle Kendrick would be on the mound.  OK, now this is the confession part.  I was bummed!  Really bummed.  In fact,when I heard the news announced on Comcast Sportsnet I groaned so loudly, my son came running in to see what was wrong.

I mean, can you blame me?  The Phillies have arguably the best pitching staff in baseball history and we were going to see Kyle Kendrick???  But it had been a beautiful day and was supposed to be a beautiful night so off we went, resolved to have a good time.  Well, the key words in that sentence were ‘supposed to be‘ because when we arrived at the ballpark it felt like the twister scene in the Wizard of Oz.  The wind was blowing, the temperature had dropped at least 10 degrees, it was raining hard, frankly, it was downright nasty!  Did I mention that we were celebrating our anniversary (remember we were engaged at a Phils game) and Mothers Day?  So far, this was not the evening I had planned.

But then we got to our seats, joined by my sister and brother-in-law, we sat down, and the magic began.  Since a picture is worth a thousand words, before I get to a thousand here and bore the crap out of you, here are some images (courtesy of my husband!) from our magical night at the ballpark.

OUR NATIONAL ANTHEM

I love the image of these sailors during the anthem.  Later in the game, one of them caught a foul ball and the crowd chanted “USA, USA” as they did on that the fateful night a week ago today.  It was a spine-tingling moment.

VIEW FROM OUR SEATS!

We have great seats and I marvel at the beauty of the field every time I sit down, every single time.

FOR WHOM THE BELL TOLLS? RYAN HOWARD, OF COURSE

Ryan Howard went deep in the fourth for his 7th home run of the season.  We also witnessed some history as this blast put him alone in second place on the Phillies’ all-time home run list passing the legendary Del Ennis.  After the game, Howard got a congratulatory note from Ennis‘ widow.  Classy.

So now it’s my turn to show some class.  I would like to extend my deepest and heartfelt apologies to Kyle Kendrick.  He was terrific throwing 5 shut-out innings and setting the tone for the entire game.

We also got a look at almost the entire bullpen with 4 pitchers each throwing a shut-out inning.  All in all, it was a beautiful night.

And a final fact that will surprise anyone who knows my husband, we actually stayed for the entire game including singing “High Hopes” with Harry and the remaining crowd.

HIGH HOPES

“Oops there goes another rubber tree,

Oops there goes another rubber tree,

Oops there goes another rubber tree plant.”


Happy Mothers Day!

2 Responses to “My First Phillies Game”

  1. Hal Rosenbluth May 10, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Next time you’re husband should take a picture of you, or at least have someone take a picture of both of you celebrating Mothers Day at the ballpark. A picture of Palonco’s butt is far less attractive than the beautiful couple that you both are. So, keep the pictures of the midship men and the bell, but add the real “belle” of the blog. Did Ibanez go 0-4 that night, or was it 0-3?

    • girlsbestphriend May 10, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      “Belle of the blog.” I like that. And while I’m not sure what Ibanez did at the plate he did make an amazing catch against the wall that night!

Leave a Reply

