The Philadelphia Phillies First Forty

16 May

Well, believe it or not tonight is game 40 which means that we are about a quarter of the way through the season.  So to avoid commenting on yesterday’s game, I thought instead I’d give you some of my thoughts on the

Phils’ First Forty

(well it’s really thirty-nine but forty sounds better)


They say that good pitching beats good hitting but you have to at least score a couple of runs, don’t you?  In the first 39 games of the season the Phillies have scored 3 or fewer runs 20 times!  That’s 3 or fewer runs in more than half of their games.  Do I need to say it again???

I think it’s time to give John Mayberry a shot in right field.  And not just because of yesterday’s 2-run homer. With Ben Francisco batting .222 for the year and a woeful .080 over the last 10 games, it just seems like time for a change.

Chase Utley’s progress is encouraging.  Despite his 0-4 yesterday he played all nine innings for the first time and overall he’s been hitting the ball well.  I  hope his first game back will be a home game.  His first at-bat will be an ovation to remember.

It’s great to have Chooch back.  Although he may be a bit rusty,  I know there are 4 Aces delighted to see that familiar masked man crouching behind the plate.

It was cool to see the Phillies play in the Civil Rights  game in Atlanta on Sunday.  Those light blue uniforms take me back!  For me I picture Larry Bowa‘s number 10 when I see them.  (But you already know how I feel about Larry.)

I’ve heard a lot of talk recently that not re-signing Jayson Werth was a mistake.  Now I like Jayson Werth as much as the next fan (well, maybe not as much as some of his more ardent female admirers) but in this blogger’s opinion, there’s no way the Phillies should have paid him the astronomical dollars offered by the Washington Nationals.

Rainy days and Mondays always get me down.  (Ooops, I guess that’s not really a baseball observation.)

Who would have thought that after his dismal Spring Training we’d be anxiously awaiting the return of Domonic Brown?  He’s been hitting the cover off the ball in Triple A but is now unfortunately dealing with a new thumb injury.

And oh yeah, did I mention that the Phillies are in first place in their division with the best record in Major League Baseball?

See, I saved the best for last.

“What you have to remember is that baseball isn’t a week or a month but a season–and a season is a long time.”     Chuck Tanner


Ain’t that the truth!


Leave a Reply

