WHAT’S WRONG WITH THE PHILADELPHIA PHILLIES?

4 Jun

I know patience is a virtue.  I know it’s a marathon not a sprint, I know you can’t win ’em all, I know it’s not how you start it’s how you finish,  but can someone please tell me WHAT’S WRONG WITH THIS BASEBALL TEAM?

It was a night when they fielded their regular starting line-up for the first time all year, a night when Cole Hamels was brilliant giving up one hit in eight innings, a night when they were playing the Pittsburgh Pirates, a team with a Major League leading 18 straight losing seasons so can someone please tell me WHAT’S WRONG WITH THIS BASEBALL TEAM?

Yes, they just came off a 20 straight game stretch, and they’ve had their share of injuries.  Yes, they’re still in first place but the Marlins are steady at 2 behind and the Braves have really closed the gap at only 2 1/2 back.  Yes, they’re still 11 games over 500 but after losing 2 of 3 from the Nationals and this first game to the Pirates, teams they should beat, can someone please tell me WHAT’S WRONG WITH THIS BASEBALL TEAM?

OK, I’m done.  I think.

As fans go, I’m pretty patient.  Having gone through the lean years, I appreciate having a baseball team like this Phillies team to root for.  I appreciate all the winning seasons and Division Titles and the World Series win in ’08.  I’m not even one of those fans who thinks if they don’t win the World Series this year it’s a disappointment.

I’ve been watching this game a long time and I know anything can happen.  I know the best team on paper often is not the team that wins it all.  I know sometimes the bounces just don’t go your way, but after watching Cole Hamels‘ dominating performance get wasted last night against a team the Phillies need to beat there’s only one thing I can say:

Can someone please tell me WHAT’S WRONG WITH THIS BASEBALL TEAM?????

Sorry, now I really am done.  Thanks for your time.  Please go on about your business and enjoy your Saturday.

Leave a Reply

