Phillies’ Win Is All In the Numbers

15 Jun

Who was that team last night?  It reminded me of this team that used to play here.  You remember them–Ryan Howard, Chase Utley, Jimmy Rollins.  Oh yeah, that is this team.  But it has been a long time since we’ve seen a game like last night.  High scoring and low stress.  Just the way I like them.  But I know my Mom was watching, saying, “Save some for tomorrow!”

Since there’s another game in just a couple of hours I’ll keep this post short and sweet and let the numbers do the talking with this “It’s All In the Numbers” countdown:

10     As in 2010.  The Phillies haven’t hit five home runs in a game since June of 2010.

 9     The number of wins for pitcher Cole Hamels who becomes only the second National League 9-game winner.  Who’s the first?  Teammate Roy Halladay, of course.

 8     The number of times I asked my son (who was only studying for finals) to check the tv during the rain delay to see if the game was on yet.  (Sorry, Spencer.)

 7     Swans a-swimming.  Ooops, I mean the number of home runs Ryan Howard has hit against last night’s Marlins starter Chris Volstad.  7 homers is the most Howard has against any opposing pitcher.

 6     Last night’s win was the 6th for the Phillies in their current home stand giving them a 6-2 record going into today’s double-header action.

 5     This as an easy one.  The 5 home-runs in last night’s game including two-run shots for Howard, Utley, and Rollins.  (More on the other homers in number 2.)

 4     The number of bruises I have on my arm this morning from pinching myself while watching the game to make sure I wasn’t dreaming.

 3     Only 3 hits given up by Cole Hamels in another dominant performance including a stretch where he retired 17 straight.  Hamels left the game with back stiffness in the eighth but says he won’t miss a start.

 2     As in 2 solo home-runs for Domonic Brown.  It was his first career multi-home run game.  The way he’s been swinging the bat lately it won’t be his last.

 1     First Place.  That’s where the Phillies sit in the East and coupled with a Braves loss last night, the Phils now have a 3 1/2 game lead.

So there you have it!  And the quote of the night?  Charlie Manuel.  Asked if he was concerned when Hamels had to leave the game, the Phils skipper replied,

” It’s always a concern.  {But} I can’t afford to let my heart skip a lot.  I’ve only got one, and I’ve had a lot of work done on it.”

Well, other than Hamel‘s departure, last night’s game was easy on the heart.

Let’s just hope they did “save some” for today.

2 Responses to “Phillies’ Win Is All In the Numbers”

  1. Lea Dickler June 15, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    the only comment I have about last nights game is “YIPPEE!!!!”

Leave a Reply

