Me and the Schmitter

17 Jun

I’m a bit of a purist when it comes to my baseball food.  I’m a hot dog and light beer kind of girl.  For me, adventurous is going for the chicken tenders and fries.  But that’s all going to change.  Today we’re at the Business Persons Special to see the Phillies play the Marlins and there is something I must do.

Today I throw caution (and my digestion) to the wind.  Today I vow to leave my ballpark franks behind.

Today I’ve arrived at the Bank early, TUMS in hand, to boldly go where no timid eater has gone before.

I’ve read about it, I’ve heard about, today I try it.

That’s right.

Today–I try…

Now for the uninitiated, the Schmitter is a legendary sandwich created at McNally’s Tavern in Chestnut Hill.  For years I’ve been told that you can’t consider yourself a real Phillies fan until you’ve tried the Schmitter.  So I’ve come to the park many times prepared to do the deed but I always manage to find an excuse.  The line’s too long, the game’s about to start, don’t you feel rain,? anything I can think of.  Then I happily grab a hot dog and head for my seat.

But not this time.

This time I’m determined.

This time I mean business.

The Schmitter is based on the famous Philly cheesesteak but layered with double the steak, triple the cheese and a bunch of other stuff  like onion, tomato, grilled salami, (did I say cheese?) and the whole thing is smothered in a gooey ‘special sauce.’  If a picture’s worth a thousand words, how about a diagram?

That’s right, I said a diagram.

HOLD THE PICKLES, HOLD THE SALAMI???

Just looking at all those layers made me queasy.  All that cheese, all that salami.  Why does there have to be salami???  But I hadn’t come this far to give up now so I popped another TUMS and got in line.

By the way, the Schmitter is NOT named after legendary third baseman Mike Schmidt as is commonly believed.  (And you thought you weren’t going to learn anything here.)  In fact, it was the favorite sandwich of one of the regulars at McNally’s.   Now this guy always drank Schmidt’s beer, so the sandwich became known as the Schmitter.  (Somewhere Mike Schmidt is heaving a great sigh of relief!)

Wait a minute here… Maybe since it’s not named for a Phillie after all… maybe I really don’t have to…  No!  No more excuses.

I had my Schmitter in hand and it was time to face the music, I mean salami.

So there it is.

It looks pretty harmless just sitting there.

Harmless but messy.

OK, I just need to take one bite.

Just One Bite.

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!

I DID IT!

And you know what?  It really wasn’t that bad.  It was actually kind of tasty.  Cheesy and gooey and the sauce was a bit like thousand island dressing.

So let that be a lesson to you all.

Do what you fear.

Oh yeah, there was a baseball game.  The Phillies won their seventh in a row.  Cliff Lee was brilliant pitching a complete game 2-hit shutout.  He even had two hits including a double to drive in the Phils‘ first run.

The Marlins lost their seventh in a row and plummeted to last place in the East a whopping 11 1/2 out.

As for me?  I left the park with a full stomach and a smile on my face.  Not only had my team won, but I had won, too.

And I had one more thing to cross off that bucket list!

5 Responses to “Me and the Schmitter”

  1. Lea Dickler June 17, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    I NEVER SAW A SCHMITTER BWEFORE BEFORE. THANKS!!! WHAT WILLPOWER!!! HOW COULD YOU THROW IT AWAY??? THE GAME WAS GREAT. IT HAD TO BE TERRIFIC WATCHING IT LIVE. DO YOU STILL HAVE YOUR BOX? DAVE AND I HAVE TICKETS FOR THE FIREWORKS NITE AT THE END OF JULY. ARE YOU GOING THAT NIGHT?

    • girlsbestphriend June 17, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

      We are in the same seats we’ve had. Not sure we’re going that night. I’ll check. You can try a Schmitter!

  2. Nat June 17, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    okay, that vat of ‘sauce’ looks like the drip pans at my local jiffy lube. but congrats on your food adventure!

  3. geetie June 17, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    What a relief,Mike would have nothing to do with that mess. But you go girl !The win was superb,glad you were there.

Leave a Reply

