Blast From the Past

21 Jun

I don’t know about you but I hate when the Phillies have a day off.  My husband and I both wander around the house aimlessly not sure what to do.  We tried listening to sports talk radio but there’s only so much you can take of that.  We tried watching the MLB network which I enjoy especially when Mitch Williams is on like he was last night.  But we got tired of that pretty quick, too.

Then by chance, I found a rebroadcast of game 5 of the Phillies/Kansas City World Series game from 1980.  I’m not usually a fan of watching old sporting events, I mean we already know the ending, but I must admit that this was riveting.  Mike Schmidt, Larry Bowa, Dallas Green .  There they all were frozen in time as their younger selves.

We saw the final three innings.  The Phillies were down 3-2 and Del Unser got a big hit in the ninth to help them regain the lead, 4-3.  Del Unser.   (Remember how the stadium announcer used to say his name?  He made the ‘n’ and the ‘r’ in the syllables of his last name really long.   Del Unnnnnn—–serrrrrr)

Tug McGraw was pitching in the bottom of the 9th.  (He had been pitching since the 7th inning!  Man, relief pitching has changed.) He was slapping his glove against his thigh as he came to the mound.  He looked so young and full of energy.

But the ninth was painful.  I’m not sure how I got through it,  watching it live. Tug loaded the bases.  The game was at Royals Stadium and the fans were on their feet cheering for a KC win.

But when he really needed it the Tugger dug down deep and struck out Jose Cardenal with a high fastball to end the game.

The Phils were up 3-2 in the series and we all know how it ended.

So there’s a little blast from the past to start your day.

Tonight back to the present with Roy Halladay!

2 Responses to “Blast From the Past”

  1. LJ June 21, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    So funny! I also don’t know what to do with myself on days off (to say nothing of when the season is over!) But I commented to someone this weekend that I have a problem even if the game is early or late. I find myself out of sorts when 7 pm rolls around, even if I watched (or attended!) the afternoon game or look forward to a late, west coast start. Do we need counseling?

    • girlsbestphriend June 21, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

      You are a girl after my own heart! Sometimes I watch the re-broadcast of an afternoon game at 7:00 even if I already know what happened. Maybe we should start a support group for the off-seaon.

Leave a Reply

