Limericks for Lee

23 Jun

What’s a blogger to do when time is short but the game deserves mention?  Well, Halladay had his Haiku so Cliff Lee should have a verse of his own.  I call it:  The Lee Limerick.  Now I don’t have as much experience with the limerick form so bear with me.  Here we go:

◊          ◊          ◊

THERE ONCE WAS AN ACE  NAMED CLIFF LEE,

WHO DID NOT WANT TO BE A YANKEE.

HE IS SO TIGHTLY WOUND,

HE RUNS OUT TO THE MOUND.

 HE WILL GO DOWN IN PHILS’ HISTORY.

◊        ◊       ◊

OK, I’m getting the hang of it, but I didn’t address last night’s game.

◊         ◊       ◊

CLIFF LEE WAS THE PITCHER LAST NIGHT

IT WASN’T EVEN A FAIR FIGHT.

FIRST A SEVEN BALL START,

BUT THE REST WAS JUST ART

SIMPLY PUT, HE IS JUST ‘OUTTA SIGHT!’

◊          ◊          ◊

Well, it’s not high art but I hope it give you a chuckle as you start your day.

Now what the heck am I going to do for Cole Hamels?

2 Responses to “Limericks for Lee”

  1. geetie June 23, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    All hail the blogger named Susan
    Her posts are fun and amusin’
    I look forward each day
    To what she will say
    In whatever format she’s usin’

    Maybe a sonnet for Hamels?

    • girlsbestphriend June 23, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      Wow!!! Well done. I’ve never had a limerick written for me before. I don’t know what to say! Thanks.

      xo

Leave a Reply

