OK I’ll Admit It

26 Jun

Ok, I’ll admit it, I gave up on the Phillies last night.

In the 5th inning I just couldn’t stand to see one more weak ground ball to first so I turned off the tv, went outside….   and turned on the radio. That’s like giving up for me.

I also was getting really tired of Chris Wheeler saying how hard it is to face a pitcher you’ve never seen before. Does he not realize that the last place A’s haven’t seen Phillies pitching before either and they somehow managed to get ten hits and four runs to the Phillies paltry four hits and one run?  If I were Cole Hamels (or any of the Phils‘ pitchers for that matter,) I’d sue the offense for lack of support!  There.  I feel better.

And now that I think about it, there are some other things I’d like to get off my chest:

I hate interleague play.  I mean come on, who really wants to see the Oakland A’s or the Seattle Mariners.  I’m not sure I even knew there was a team in Seattle.  I know they have that famous fish market and that really tall space needle thing but a baseball team?  Who knew?

And I really don’t like having to play with a designated hitter in the American League parks.  Let’s face it, the Phillies can’t even field eight players who can hit.  How the heck are they going to find nine???

When the games are this hard to watch I’m actually starting to look forward to the Charlie Manuel press conferences.  At least I might get a laugh or two.  I used to wince when I heard him speak but now I find him pretty entertaining.  His press conference two nights ago when he didn’t want to divulge Ryan Madson‘s injury but let it slip out anyway, was a classic.

And it’s not just the offense that’s bothering me.  It’s the attitude.  When the rookie right fielder, who needs all the hits he can get, doesn’t run a ball out to first, now that’s a problem.  There’s no way Domonic Brown shouldn’t have beat out his ground ball that was bobbled by the A’s second baseman.  In a close game (which it was at the time) every little play makes a difference.  Jimmy Rollins was benched for a similar offense.

OK, this one’s embarrassing.  Don’t judge me but I still have my Larry Bowa trash can.  I know I’m a grown woman with two children who are even too old to have a Larry Bowa trash can but I just don’t care.  It’s tattered and faded but I still love it!

I’m cheating on you.  I have started writing for a website called Bleacher Report.  I wanted to tell you before, really I did, but I was afraid. It’s a national website that has a lot of readers so it’s good exposure.  I hope you can be happy for me.  And don’t worry, you’re still my favorite.

OK, I’m done.  Thanks for listening (reading.)  I feel much better now.

If you need to get anything off your chest, I’m here for you.

2 Responses to “OK I’ll Admit It”

  1. geetie June 26, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    I can’t believe Domonic Brown didn’t hear the collective yells of “run it out” coming from rooms across the Delaware Valley. I’m sure he must have heard it from Charlie ! Will I watch today hmmmm?
    Way to go about Bleacher Report.

    • girlsbestphriend June 26, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

      Thanks! As far as today goes, when Roy Halladay’s on the mound, it’s always worth watching!

Leave a Reply

