It Starts Again Tonight

15 Jul

It starts again tonight.

71 games to go starting with a three game series against the New York Mets.  And the Phillies will really need to play well on the road. They have 39 road games in the final 71.  Their first half record was only 23-19 so it will important for the team to pick it up a bit when they are not in the friendly confines of Citizens Bank Park.

It starts again tonight.

In the last several years, the Phillies have been better in the second half which may bode well.  But one reason for that has definitely been the big moves the team has made at the trade deadline.  Do the names Kyle Lohse, Joe Blanton, Cliff Lee and Roy Oswalt ring a bell???

It starts again tonight.

And speaking of that looming deadline, trade talk has been at a fever pitch.  A right-handed bat, another bullpen arm, Josh Willingham, Michael Cuddyer, Carlos Beltran???  And of course, everyone’s favorite after his game-stopping slide to the mound in the All-Star Game, Heath Bell.  Will the Phillies  make a move for any of these talked about players or is Ruben Amaro Jr. finally out of  cash as he claims?

It starts again tonight.

The Phillies first half 57 wins are ten more than they had a year ago at this time but the Braves are still on their tail.  My current “glass half full” thinking is that a race down the stretch is a good thing.  Playing meaningful games before the play-offs start readies a team for the pressures of a long play-off run.  Pretty good rationalizing, right?

It starts again tonight.

A couple of years ago, any series against the Mets would have been as hotly anticipated as the final Harry Potter movie.  (Not by me but my daughter did go to the first midnight showing last night.)  Amazing how a couple of disappointing seasons and Bernie Madoff can change everything.  Yet another reminder to enjoy the team and the run we’re lucky enough to be having!!!

It starts again tonight.

Vance Worley will be on the mound.  The performance of these young pitchers, Worley, Michael Stutes and Antonio Bastardo, as the pressure heats up will have a lot to do with how the Phillies finish the regular season.  It would be hard for them to perform much better especially  as teams get to see them more and more but this is when heroes are born!

It starts again tonight.

I don’t know about you but I’m glad the All-Star break is finally over.  I’m always in a funk without baseball.  It’s like my best friend is gone and I don’t know what to do with myself.  Does that make me a baseball geek?  That and the fact that I’m writing my Phillies blog at 5 AM! But don’t be so quick to judge me, my friends.  After all, you’re reading it!

It starts again tonight.

Yes, baseball’s back, baby.  And after all the anticipation, all the high expectations, all the talk of this historic pitching staff, in just 71 more games we’ll know our fate.  For me, this team has been as advertised.  For me and my 16-year old son who turned to me during the All-Star game and said, “Can you believe we have the best team in baseball?”   Yes we do, Spencie!  So as I always say, don’t forget to enjoy the ride. And let’s just hope we’ll be hearing Harry the K‘s rendition of High Hopes many more times before this season comes to an end!

6 Responses to “It Starts Again Tonight”

  1. geetie July 15, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    It starts again tonight,thankfully.I found myself cleaning out drawers,unbelievable!!!

  2. Lea Dickler July 15, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    BOY, YOU SURE REVVED UP MY MOTOR WITH THAT BLOG. I THINK I BETTER TAKE A VALIUM!! GOOOO PHILLIES!!!!

  3. Alan Dickler July 15, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Spencie !!! PPPLEASE

    • girlsbestphriend July 15, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Hey, that’s what I call him sometimes. You got a problem with that, Alllie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

