Ode to Borders

22 Jul

Yes, I know my blog is about baseball.  But almost as much as I love baseball I love books.  Shopping for them, touching them, reading them.

Yes, call me old-fashioned but I like to turn the pages of what I read; I like the feel of a book in my hands when I sit on the beach or on my favorite comfy chair.  I like to file them away on my bookshelves and I love to lend them out trying to pick the perfect book for my family and friends.

So reading yesterday that Borders was gong to close its doors hit me particularly hard.  Look, I know Borders and book store chains like it were probably responsible for the demise of the smaller mom and pop bookshops but as I sit here in the Wynnewood Borders coffee shop on my computer while sipping my tall skinny caramel cafe latte, I just can’t imagine my life without Borders.

I’ll admit it.  I frequent Amazon.  A lot.  But that doesn’t mean I still don’t love a real bookstore. With real live people.  And good coffee.  Free wireless.  And lots and lots and lots of books.

I know technology is wonderful and provides us all with so much.  I know it’s here to stay and I’m truly not a techno-phobe.  I know most of us wouldn’t want to go back to a world without computers or cell phones or i-pads (that one’s for my husband.)

But I cringe to contemplate a world without bookstores.

And I perish the thought of what might come next.

 

The Phillies were off last night.  Back to baseball tomorrow.

One Response to “Ode to Borders”

  1. geetie July 22, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    When I passed Borders this morning the signs were already saying the store was closed, that seems really fast. To quote Sophie “That’s really sad.”

Leave a Reply

