What to Do On An Off Day

25 Aug

Well, another series winning 2 of 3.  Can’t complain about that.  At least the Braves finally lost last night so the Phillies are still 6 1/2 games up.  As for today, it’s an off day.  I think I’ve mentioned before that I really don’t like off days.  I’m never quite sure what to do with myself when there’s no game to watch.  In case you have the same problem, here are some ideas.  And I’ll throw in some for our boys in red, too.  Just in case.

◊          ♦          ◊          ♦          ◊ 

For me:  It’s a good night to catch up on my laundry.  I especially need to wash, dry and iron all my rally towels so they’re ready for action.  (Ok, I don’t really iron them.)

For the Phillies:  Spend some time with your wife/girlfriend and kids.  BUT, no lifting a child over 20 pounds (bad for your back.) No playing contact sports of any kind (might strain something.)  No running, no skipping, no hugging too hard.  (All right, you can hug… gently.)

♦          ◊          ♦          ◊          ♦

For me:  I think I’ll cook a nice dinner for my family tonight.  I’ll set the table in the dining room and we can eat and chat like a real family, instead of eating in front of the tv during the game, only talking during commercials.  (OK, I might just order in but do me a favor, don’t tell my husband.)

For the Phillies:  Catch up on any little things you need to get down around the house especially clearing out the gutters and repairing leaks before Irene hits town.  On second thought, have your wives or girlfriends do it.  They won’t get placed on the DL if they hurt something.   (Sorry ladies.)

◊          ♦          ◊          ♦          ◊

For me:  It’s a good chance to catch up on my reading.  I don’t know about you but magazines pile up during baseball season and I think I’ve been reading the same book since the All-Star Break!

For the Phillies:  Reading!  That’s a great one.  Find a comfy chair, put your feet up and READ.  In fact, you might want to do that all day.

♦          ◊          ♦          ◊          ♦

For me:  I’ll take my dogs out for a nice long walk.  During a game, we just let them out in the fenced-in back yard to play  but tonight we take a long walk through the neighborhood.

For the Phillies:  Yes, you may play with your pets BUT Oswalt, no throwing a ball for them, save that for the mound; Chase, let Jen do the walking, your knee needs all the rest it can get and Jimmy, well with your tender injury, you can’t even bend over to pet a dog.  Sorry.

◊          ♦          ◊          ♦          ◊

So let’s review, I’ll be cooking, doing laundry, walking and playing with my dogs.

The Phillies will be sitting quietly on a sofa with a pillow behind their backs.  I recommend a nice mug of warm milk, an early bedtime and a relaxing morning before you head back to the ballpark tomorrow.  Sound good?

Enjoy!!!

4 Responses to “What to Do On An Off Day”

  1. geetie cohen August 25, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    All the recommendations sound reasonable and well thought out,yours too. But a warm mug of milk REALLY !!!!

    • girlsbestphriend August 26, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

      OK, that was pushing it a bit but I didn’t say they couldn’t add the liqueur of their choice!

  2. Fern Zeigler August 25, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    do you crack yourself up thinking of ideas to write? this was a funny one!!!!!!!

    • girlsbestphriend August 26, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed it. As long as my readers laugh, that’s all that counts, right? You think I was kidding?

Leave a Reply

