Not Today

20 Sep

I thought I’d be writing about the Phillies clinching home field advantage throughout the play-offs today.

I hoped I’d be writing about Roy Halladay’s dominating performance earning his 19th win.

I dreamed I’d be writing about a break-out offensive slugfest from this lately lethargic line-up.

But despite a hint of life in the bottom of the ninth that was not meant to be.

Since clinching their fifth straight NL East title, the Phillies have been, well, let’s just say they’ve been conserving their energy or perhaps they’re having a bit of a post-clinch let-down or maybe they’re still recovering from that champagne hang-over.

Whatever the reason, I’ve generously decided to let them slide for a game (or apparently two.)

I won’t write about how this anemic offense is scarily reminiscent of the one that lost to the Giants in last year’s NLCS.  I won’t talk about all the runners left on base, 19 in last night’s game alone, or the fact that the Phillies have scored 3 runs or less in 10 of their last 11 games.

No I won’t write about any of that.  Because every team, especially one with the best record in baseball, deserves a break, right?

So I won’t talk about the once unhittable bullpen which routinely now gives up hits, walks and most concerning, runs.  And I won’t mention that even the “Doc” didn’t look sharp last night nor did Cole Hamels the night before.

Nope, I certainly won’t write about that.  After all, who am I to find fault with the team that clinched the East for a record fifth straight time?  The team that clinched home field throughout the play-offs, after all, even with a loss.  The team that has been in first place for every single day except one.

Who am I?  I am just a fan.  A fan who had to take two Tylenol PM, instead of my usual one, last night, a fan who may need to find another hobby, a fan who clearly needs to cut back a bit on the caffeine.

So for all of those many reasons I won’t write about my Phillies fears today.  Not today.

“Wait a minute, what did you say?  You said that I already wrote about them?”

Well, let me quote the incomparable Gilda Radner when I say,

“Ooooh, I’m sorry, never mind.”

2 Responses to “Not Today”

  1. Ray September 20, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    I think you have hit the nail on the head with everything we are all now worrying about, especially the bullpen. The bullpen which just a short time ago complimented the “aces, ” is playing more like the jokers.

    Hopefully, we can get this late season slump out of our system just in time to head into the playoffs playing strong.

    • girlsbestphriend September 21, 2011 at 12:11 am #

      Thanks, Ray. Not much offense again so far today, either. But I’m totally with you. From your lips…

Leave a Reply

