The Best Medicine

22 Sep

“I think if this was happening in October, I think I’d probably be packing my car.”      Charlie Manuel

Thanks for the laugh this morning, Charlie.  I think we all needed one.  I know I did.  So today I’ll take the skipper’s lead.  The Phillies have clinched home field, there’s no way I can write about yet another loss to the Nationals and laughter is the best medicine.  So here come some of my favorite quotes about my favorite game:

“A baseball game is simply a nervous breakdown divided into nine innings.”    Earl Wilson

“I’ve come to the conclusion that the two most important things in life are good friends and a good bullpen.”   Bob Lemon

“Why does everybody stand up and sing “Take Me Out to the Ballgame” when they’re already there?”     Larry Anderson

“Ninety feet between home plate and first base may be the closest man has ever come to perfection. “   Red Smith

“Andre Dawson has a bruised knee and is listed as day-to-day.  Aren’t we all?”           Vin Scully

“Finish last in your league and they call you idiot.  Finish last in medical school and they call you Doctor.”     Abe Lemons

“I managed a team that was so bad we considered a 2-0 count on the batter a rally. “        Rich Donnelly, minor league manager

“I could never play in New York.  The first time I came into a game there, I got into the bullpen car and they told me to lock the doors.”         Mike Flanagan, Baltimore Orioles

“The kid doesn’t chew tobacco, smoke, drink, curse or chase broads.  I don’t see how he can make it.”    Richie Ashburn

“I believe in rules.  Sure I do.  If there weren’t any rules, how could you break them? ”    Leo Durocher

“There are only two seasons–winter and baseball.”     Bill Veeck

“The best possible thing in baseball is winning the World Series.  The second best thing is losing the World Series.”      Tommy Lasorda

“There are peaks and valleys in this game.  We’re in a valley–Death Valley.”           Kirby Puckett

“I dunno.  I never smoked any Astroturf.”   Tug McGraw, when asked for a preference between grass or Astroturf

“Any time you think you have the game conquered the game will turn around and punch you right in the nose.”    Mike Schmidt

“I don’t want to play golf.  When I hit a ball, I want someone else to go chase it.”      Rogers Hornsby

“The designated hitter rule is like letting someone else take Wilt Chamberlain’s free throws.”      Rick Wise

“Baseball, it is said, is only a game.  True.  And the Grand Canyon is only a hole in Arizona.”       George Will

 I hope I started your morning with a laugh.  Now Yogi Berra will have the last word as only he can.

“Baseball is ninety percent mental and the other half is physical. ”  

“If you come to a fork in the road, take it.”

“You wouldn’t have won if we’d beaten you.”

I couldn’t have said it better myself.  Actually I couldn’t have said it even if I tried.

And if this didn’t cheer you up just be thankful that you’re not a fan of the Red Sox or the Braves these days!  Ok, Yogi, take us home!

“It ain’t over till it’s over.” 

And it’s not over yet!  Back to business tomorrow.  (By the way, you may want to bookmark this page in case you need it later.)

2 Responses to “The Best Medicine”

  1. geetie cohen September 22, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    A very sincere THANK YOU, I needed that.

    • girlsbestphriend September 22, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

      You are certainly welcome! It helped for a little while but then I made the mistake of turning on sports radio. OY! I may to switch to NPR for a while.

Leave a Reply

