The Calm Before the Storm

24 Sep

Since the Phillies were mercifully rained out last night, this might be a good time to share with you, my readers, this bloggers dilemma.

I was talking to my sister, and fellow baseball addict Holly, the other day and she made  a good point.  She said that this part of the season must be the hardest time for a Phillies blogger to blog.  And she’s right.

The Phillies have clinched home field; the 25-man play-off roster doesn’t look like it will offer too many surprises; and meaningless games, especially losses, against the Nationals or even the once arch-rival Mets don’t provide much must-read material either.

So here’s my dilemma.  Should I keep writing  just like I have been all season long or should I take a couple of days off before the playoffs begin?

On the one hand, I could really use a little break, a chance to give my hands a rest, let those typing blisters heal and conserve my energy for the post season.  Maybe I could even get a cortisone injection to ease that recurring wrist pain I’ve been dealing with since the All-Star Break.

On the other hand what if  taking a break upsets my writing rhythm?  What if I lose my mojo and can’t get it back in time?  Maybe I shouldn’t mess with my routine.  I mean it’s worked for 122 posts, why change it up now?

But it has been a long regular season.  I’ve been writing Girls Best Phriend  since January 31st.  In fact I’ve actually been at this longer than the Phillies!  Taking a couple of meaningless games off could help me stay fresh and prepare me for the added pressures of writing during an intense playoff run.

And what about my all-important ‘word count?’  Should I keep it about the same so my writer’s vocabulary is all stretched out and ready or should I write fewer words for the next week or so?  After all, the most important thing is for me to be at my best during the play-offs.  Isn’t that what you, my loyal readers, deserve?

These are the weighty issues confronting this blogger on a soggy Saturday morning.  And you thought this whole blogging thing was just an ‘intentional walk in the Park.’

My biggest fear:  WHAT IF I DEVELOP WRITERS’ BLOCK???  Can a writer, even an experienced one, just turn that creativity switch back on when the big games begin???

OK, OK, maybe it would be best if I didn’t change my routine after all.

I think I’d better keep writing.  And I probably should keep my word count up, too.

After all, now is not the time to stop doing what got me here in the first place, right?

 

6 Responses to “The Calm Before the Storm”

  1. geetie cohen September 24, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    By all means keep writing.In order to give yourself some down time maybe you could reprise the most popular blogs.

    • girlsbestphriend September 24, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      Yeah. Maybe I can reprise one I wrote after a win! You remember winning.

  2. Shirley September 24, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Good decision…keep on blogging! You don’t want to upset my morning reading routine either!

  3. LJ September 24, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Clever, clever entry. Just don’t get injured blogging during these “meaningless games.”

    • girlsbestphriend September 24, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

      Thanks for your concern, Lisa! But it’s not writing the blog that’s likely to injure me these days. It’s watching this team! Oy! What do you think is going on?

Leave a Reply

