“Bring It On!”

28 Sep

There are those who say that the Phillies should not try quite so hard to win their final regular season game against the Braves.

There are those who say that manager Charlie Manuel should field a couple more bench players and not leave his starting pitcher in so long.

There are those who want the Braves to win so the Phillies don’t have to  face the Cardinals in the playoffs’ first round but I say,

 “BRING IT ON!”

Conventional wisdom says that the Arizona Diamondbacks are the team the Phillies should want to play.  After all, the Diamondbacks are a young team that will be happy just to make it to the post season after finishing last in their division just a year ago.

Conventional wisdom says that we should root for the Milwaukee Brewers to win and the Diamondbacks to lose on the regular season’s final day.

Conventional wisdom says that the Phillies would rather not face Brewers’ sluggers Prince Fielder and Ryan Braun in the always-dangerous five-game NLDS but I say,

“BRING IT ON!”

And then, of course, there are the American League teams to consider.

Do the Phillies want to see the Yankees lose in Round 1?  Would they rather face the Tigers or the Rangers instead?  And will the Red Sox even make the playoffs or will it be Tampa Bay?

It’s hard to believe that after 161 games, the Phillies still don’t know who their opponent will be but to whoever it is I say,

“BRING IT ON!”

Now I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking that I’ve been bemoaning the Phillies weaknesses recently.  That I’ve been worried about their lack of hitting and their suddenly sloppy defense.  That I’ve been concerned about their shaky bullpen with its untimely tired arms.

And don’t get me wrong.  I’m still worried about all of that.  In fact, I’ll continue to worry about every pitch of every game.  After all, I am a proud Philadelphia fan.

But now with a record-tying 101 wins behind us and the playoffs dead ahead, it’s time to get out those rally towels, put on your Phillies caps, and join me as I say,

 “BRING IT ON!”  

2 Responses to ““Bring It On!””

  1. geetie cohen September 28, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    BRING IT ON !
    My rally towel is fluffed and ready.

Leave a Reply

