That’s Why I Love Baseball

29 Sep

After a 162-game season, it all comes down to this.

After six months of baseball, one night would decide it all.

After this night was over, some teams would play another day while others would go home.

That’s why I love baseball 

Two teams were trying desperately to avoid monumental meltdowns.

Two other teams were hoping to complete stunning comebacks.

There was one team with franchise history in its grasp.

There was another that knew already this game would be their last.

But they all shared one thing; they all wanted to win.

That’s why I love baseball.

It was a night of game-winning home runs and game-ending double plays.

A night of heart-stopping victories and heart-breaking defeats.

A night of improbable collapses and impossible comebacks.

That’s why I love baseball.

There will be teams that keep on playing while others will go home.

There will be faces wet with champagne while others are wet with tears.

There will be winners and yes, losers, but more important than that,

‘There’s always next year.”

And that’s why I love baseball.

4 Responses to “That’s Why I Love Baseball”

  1. Sydney September 29, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Your blog was the first thing I reached for this morning! Can’t believe that I missed the best night in baseball’s history!! Hoping that you guys at home will take our Phillies all the way. I’ll be rooting from down south. Keep the posts coming- reading this makes me feel like I’m not missing out on all the excitement! Cheers to a happy New Year and another championship! Let’s go Phils!!!

  2. Ray September 30, 2011 at 12:08 am #

    You have way of saving what we are thinking. Almost like you can read our minds and hearts!!!!

    • girlsbestphriend September 30, 2011 at 3:30 am #

      Wow! Thanks for that, Ray. It’s comments like yours that keep me going. You made my day!

      • Ray September 30, 2011 at 10:16 am #

        You make our day with every post. I find myself always checking your blog first before I go looking for any other news. Keep those posts coming!

Leave a Reply

