Surviving The Playoffs

5 Oct

If you’re looking for a play-by-play recap of last night’s Phillies/Cardinals game you’ve come to the wrong place.  The Phillies won 3-2; Cole Hamels gutted out six shut-out innings; Ben Francisco came off the bench and did more damage in one pinch hit appearance than the entire line-up has done since the second inning of Game 2; Ryan Madson sealed the deal with a 5-out save.  If you need more detail than that, try ESPN.

This morning I have something much more important on my mind.

Something that affects me to my very core.

Something I finally must share with you, my readers.

And it is this:  The playoffs reduce me to a quivering bowl of jelly.

There I said it.

Yes, this normally quite calm and collected television producer, known for keeping her cool under pressure is anything but when it’s time for playoff baseball.  I just don’t get it.

I mean I work  in television, dammit, with deadline pressures every day.  And that doesn’t rattle me.  I can speak in front of crowds and even take my newly permitted 16-year-old son driving without breaking a sweat.

But watching the ninth inning of a close playoff game turns me into an anxiety-ridden, Zantac-chewing wreck.

I can barely even look when the going gets tough.  In fact, sometimes I don’t look at all, leaving the room during the tensest of moments and peeking in only when I can get up the nerve.

Is this normal behavior for a grown woman who prides herself on always ‘keeping it together?’

Is this the kind of thing I want my children to witness or my dogs?

IS IT???  I think not.

So here’s where you come in.  I know that many of you, my dear readers, are not big fans of the comment button, but if you have enjoyed my blog posts even a little and would like to see more, if you are moved by my plight and would like to help, if you have any ideas you can share with me that get you through a game, please heed my call.

Otherwise girls best phriend might come to an untimely end, just like our Phillies did last year against the Giants.

Come on, help me here.  I’m running out of Tums and my fingernails are long gone.

OK, gotta go.  I’m off to the 24-hour pharmacy to stock up on antacids.

16 Responses to “Surviving The Playoffs”

  1. BJ October 5, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Don’t stop! I feel your pain/anxiety!!! My head is killing me this morning from the post-traumatic stress (ok, and the few beers I needed to get me through it). We’re with you…and need this morning after reaffirmation that we’re not crazy, or alone.

    • girlsbestphriend October 5, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      Thanks, BJ. Tonight I’m writing these responses to keep me busy. It helps to know there are others who share my pain!! I guess we’ll have to stick this ride out together.

  2. Ray October 5, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Well, now you have us readers quivering like that bowl of jelly at the thought that we might not have your blog to read.

    Keep stocked up on the tums, Pepto and anythign else that helps. Being anxiety ridden is just part of what we all have to live with being die hard fans. They dont call it..die hard, for nothing, becuase just as the players go out and give thier all every game, so we fans give our all right with them, We feel all the ups, the downs and everything in between.

    So, just think of it as a normal reaction and stay with us.

    We’d all like to think of it as Keeping ‘you right there” !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Keep up the great work, and we all are here with you, reading every post.

    • girlsbestphriend October 5, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

      Thanks for your kind and clever response, Ray. Flattery will get you everywhere! I guess the angst does go with being a fan, especially a Philadelphia fan. So I’ll put up with it. Ironically I hope I’ll be putting up with it for a long time.

  3. Holly October 5, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    While watching the 9th inning last night, I was reminded of something Richie Ashburn once said during the 1993 World Series. During one of Wild Things’ stressful outings, Richie said something like, ” I don’t know how folks can even stand to watch this stuff!” My sentiments exactly, Susan (and Richie).

    • girlsbestphriend October 5, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

      Thanks, Hol. I can totally hear Richie saying that. And how true it is. At least it’s good to know I have company.

  4. Shirley October 5, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Susan, we’re all in the same boat…but please don’t desert us! I need company and your blog to see me down the home stretch. So take a few deep breaths, meditate when you can’t bear to watch….but keep on blogging….we’re gonna do it!

  5. Lea Dickler October 5, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    HEY SUSAN. I WAS RIGHT THERE WITH YOU. AFTER WEEKS OF TRYING NOT TO SNACK AT NIGHT, I TOOK A WALK, READ A BOOK, TOOK ANOTHER WALK ONLY TO COME BACK TO THE GAME AND ATE 2 WHOLE HERSHEY BARS, HALF A BUV=CKET OF CARMEL POPCORN (FROM OCEAN CITY) 3 SALT WATER TAFFIES AND GAINED 11/2 POUNDS. I THINK I WILL STOP WATCHING!!!!!

    • girlsbestphriend October 5, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

      I hear you, Mom. But don’t stop watching. The Phillies need good fans like you! Just take another walk around the hallways 🙂

  6. LJ October 5, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I recommend distracting yourself with a laptop. I sent people funny dog videos (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=PuA6ZjpEJys), checked aol mail, gmail, twitter, facebook, la-dee-dah, pretending that I was only half watching the game. Who am I kidding? It didn’t work. It’s just too much for me! My husband’s strategy was to pretend he was doing things at his desk while listening to the game on the radio. So I was getting emails (from upstairs) where the subject line was things like “Anderson says he definitely caught it.”
    I think maybe the solution involves alcohol.

    • girlsbestphriend October 5, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

      I do the laptop thing, too, Lisa. My favorite diversion is text twist. Although I will check out the dog videos! I love that your husband was sending emails form upstairs. I was listening to Larry Anderson, too. I love him. He often says what I’m feeling. And I think you’re most likely right about that alcohol thing.

  7. geetie cohen October 5, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    I could say your affliction runs in the family.That being so, we’ll all be in the same old place tonight, same cloths, same snacks, and the same anxiety.
    PLEASE LET THE BLOGS CONTINUE !!!!!!

  8. Karen October 5, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    If you figure out an answer, let me know, because I have the same problem. I try to deal with it with a distraction that doesn’t take all my attention – simple computer games or knitting, but that only helps so much. Perhaps the solution does involve alcohol.

    • girlsbestphriend October 5, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

      Thanks, Karen. I agree about the computer games thing and at times like these I wish I knew how to knit. Oh well. It is comforting to know that we’re all in this thing together.

Leave a Reply

