Where, Oh Where, Is My Team?

6 Oct

First of all I have to thank all of you who commented on my last post.  I really appreciate all of your suggestions and especially your encouragement and support.  It made my day and helped me get through Game 4.

As for Game 5?  We will all need every trick in the book for that one.

I thought long and hard about ending this post here and just calling it a night.  I thought about writing something pollyanna and positive about great things involve overcoming great obstacles.  Or if it was easy, everyone would do it or something nice and cliché like that.   I really tried.  But alas, I’m afraid I cannot.   (Maybe tomorrow.)

I never have been and never will be a bandwagon jumper.  If you’ve been reading for a while you already know that.  I’ll support this team no matter what.  I love the Phillies.  They’re my team, for better or worse.  I couldn’t do anything about that even if I wanted to.

Now I know ‘love is never having to say you’re sorry.’  But can you say you’re pissed off?  Because that’s how I’m feeling right now.  And it’s not just because the Phillies lost, it’s how they lost.

 

After starting the game with a bang scoring two quick runs in the first inning, the Phillies ended with a whimper as Cardinals pitcher Edwin Jackson completely shut them down, retiring 17 out of the next 20 batters he faced.  Edwin, who? The only other run the Phillies managed to get was due to a balk and a wild pitch.

And that scenario has been all too familiar this season (and last.)

I know they say that good pitching beats good hitting but in both of the Phillies losses they had the lead and were not able to close the deal.  So what’s up with that?

As much as I hate to admit it, the Phillies didn’t play like a team headed to the World Series last night and they deserved what they got.  They looked flat; they played flat; and they flat-out got beat.

So here we go.

Game 5, gut check time.  Win or go home.  Perhaps it is appropriate that for some of us this game will take place on The Day of Atonement.

Yes, of course I want a victory, but mostly I want for all of us to see the spunky, never say die team we’ve come to love.  A team that won’t have anything to atone for no matter what the result.

4 Responses to “Where, Oh Where, Is My Team?”

  1. BJ October 6, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    You’re spot on…as always. Game 5, here we go! We’re all in it together…

  2. Ray October 6, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Couldn’t have said it better myself……….

Leave a Reply

