My Day Off

7 Oct

After all the stress of the last two Phillies games, I decided to take a well-deserved break from baseball.  No Sports Talk radio, no Mike and Mike, no Daily News Live.  Instead I decided to do all the things I have been putting on hold during this crazy baseball season.  Anything to take my mind off the impending Game 5.

I started with something I’ve loved since I was a child, a jigsaw puzzle.  I don’t know about you but I usually find it quite mindless and very relaxing just looking for all the shapes and colors.

HMMMMMMM. WHERE IS THAT LAST PIECE???

OK, well maybe not a jigsaw puzzle, but how about a good old-fashioned game of checkers?  I’ll just get the game ready to play with my son when he gets home from school.  He always wins with enthusiasm which will be a great distraction!

WHAT IS OUR NEXT MOVE?

It seems clear that puzzles and games won’t do the trick this time.  Maybe something more active is what I need.

I know.  I’ll grab some toys and go play with my dog.  He always cheers me up.

ET TU, TITO?

This day really has ‘gone to the dogs.’  Time for a change of scenery.  It’s a beautiful day outside.  I think I’ll take advantage of these last couple of days of warm weather and get a little fresh air and  sunshine.  I’ll just relax on a chaise.

I'M OUT

And then, of course I’ll need some reading material.

WHY DOES HE LOOK FAMILIAR?

All right.  I GIVE UP!  I’ve tried puzzles, games, dogs and sunshine and I still can’t seem to get those darn Phillies out of my mind.  It’s time for my last resort:  the dreaded cleaning out of the closet.  I need to take the short sleeve summer stuff out…

OUT WITH THE OLD...

And replace it with long sleeves for the cooler weather.

IN WITH THE NEW!

Well, I gave it my best shot.  But at least taking the pictures and trying to get them from my phone to my computer to my blog was a great distraction!

And it brings me to the conclusion, suggested by many of you in response to my “Surviving the Playoffs” post, that there’s really only one sure way to take your mind off of Game 5.

CHEERS!

3 Responses to “My Day Off”

  1. Ray October 7, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Yep, all we have left is cheer !!!! (and the liquid variety of cheer is always good…) Go Phillies !!!!!!!!!!

    • Carol Sue October 7, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      I love your idea. I did the same thing. I didn’t turn on TV or listen to Sports Radio. I was cleaning out drawers and closets, trying to stay busy. Tonight I’m taking care of my Grandson at his house. I will have the game on TV, but he will want to play. I do have my DVR set to record though. I love the Phillies! I have for years. I, also, love your Blog. I just stumbled upon it the other day. I’m sorry I was missing it all this time. Keep up the good writing!!! GO PHILLIES!!!!! Carol Sue

      • girlsbestphriend October 7, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

        Hi Carol Sue,
        Thanks for your nice comments! You made my day. I’m so glad you found my blog. A night with your grandson sounds like just what the “Doc”tor ordered. Have fun and keep all the good karma coming.

Leave a Reply

