Finally Something To Cheer About It

5 Nov

Hi everyone.  How have you been?  I’ve missed you!

Sorry to be gone so long but to tell you the truth I thought I might not be back until next season (if then) but something happened tonight that I thought we should share together.  The first good Phillies news since that game we won’t mention against that team we won’t mention whose manager who we won’t mention just retired.  But we’re not talking about that.

If the reports are true, the Phillies have resigned Jim Thome.  

Yes he’s 41 and way past his everyday playing days.  No, he is not the solution to the many problems that will confront the Phillies this off-season.

But who cares?  He’s Jim Thome and he’s back!  And for tonight, that’s enough to take one small step back to the team we all love.

Woo-hoo!!

 

 

 

 

 

16 Responses to “Finally Something To Cheer About It”

  1. geetie cohen November 5, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    I don’t know what I’m happiest about, you blogging, even briefly, or the Jim Thome signing. Check out Syd’s facebook page and see our own Thome in a Phil’s cap.

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler November 5, 2011 at 10:54 am #

      I did see the picture. It’s adorable! In fact, that’s how I found out!

  2. Bj November 5, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    Thanks for the news. We miss you too!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler November 5, 2011 at 10:55 am #

      Hi BJ,
      I hope all is well. Thanks for responding. Nice to know people are still out there after all this time!

  3. Fern Zeigler November 5, 2011 at 3:11 am #

    ok, what’s the difference between “resigned”; stopped working, and “resigned”; signed again? hmmmmmm

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler November 5, 2011 at 11:20 am #

      Good question, but I think you might have missed the point. 🙂

  4. Ray November 5, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    Its good to hear from you. I am in withdrawal.
    Whats with the I might not be back till next season….if then……noooooo you can’t leave us without your blight to read…..what will I do…what will all your readers do? We need you!!!!

    Any bright Phillies news is good news!!!

    PS….don’t leave us…….

    • Ray November 5, 2011 at 3:25 am #

      Blog** not blight……..I so hate autocorrect…sigh

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler November 5, 2011 at 11:02 am #

      If I ever need cheering up, Ray, you’re my man. Thanks so much for your kind words. They mean more to me than you know. Actually, and I haven’t told too many people this yet, I’ve been working on a book about the Phillies and my life and the way they both have always tied together. And as an antidote to the horrible end of 2011.

      As to the blog, I’m sure I’ll keep writing when I can. I can’t help myself!

      Thanks again, Ray. I hope you’re well.

      • Ray November 5, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

        Susan,

        I am.well. just missing your blog and the chance to respond…….

        A book, that’s very cool indeed. I can’t wait.

        Keep up the good work…and post from time to time so we can keep in touch! !!!!!!!

  5. Sydney November 5, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Glad to see that I could be your informant! First of all, I’d like to say that I called this right after that final Phillies game. Howard’s hurt- SIGN THOME. Everyone though I was kidding. Secondly, I CAN NOT STOP SMILING. My favorite Philly of all time is back. Please tell us how many days until spring training!?

    P.S- I second Ray- please don’t leave 😦

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler November 6, 2011 at 3:35 am #

      Hey Syd,
      Thanks for your nice note. And we’re thrilled about the Thome signing, too. It’s a nice way to start to turn the page from 2011. While I’m not sure how many days until pitchers and catchers report, the first Spring Training game is tentatively scheduled for February 29th against Florida State as always.

      And thanks for supporting Girls Best Phriend! You’re the best!
      xo

  6. Shirley November 6, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Welcome back Susan….I missed you! And to come back with such great news too! I’ll also expect you to autograph my copy of your book….get to work, I can hardly wait….will it include your blogs?

    • girlsbestphriend November 7, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

      Hi Shirley, I’d be happy to autograph but at this point I’m thinking ebook may be the way to go to get it out while it’s still relevant. It will definitely include parts of the blog along with some life stuff, too. We’ll see how it goes.

      You and my Mom might have to get kindles 🙂

  7. Lea Dickler November 13, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I AM SO GLAD YOU ARE BACK!!! LETS ALL HOPE THIS IS THE MISSING LINK. OF COURSE, WE NEED OUR BATTERS TO COME BACK SWINGING!!!

Leave a Reply

