‘Tis the Season (For the Winter Meetings)

4 Dec

With baseball’s Winter Meetings starting tomorrow in Dallas it seems like a good time to take a look at the Phillies off-season moves so far.  With the acquisition of Jonathan Papelbon as their closer and Jim Thome and Ty Wigginton for more power off the bench, according to GM Ruben Amaro, the next need they must address is shortstop.

Which brings us to the always fascinating ‘to J-Roll or not to J-Roll’ question.  For me the answer is easy.  As Jimmy goes, the Phillies go, so I’m going with Jimmy.  I just don’t get all the anti-Jimmy Rollins sentiment on sportstalk radio these days.  You know the old, “he’s not a lead-off hitter”, “he doesn’t take enough pitches,” “he’s over-rated.”

Well, I beg to differ.  While he might not be the consummate lead-off hitter that, to me, is not really the issue.  Charlie Manuel can and may tinker with his line-up however he wants but to all of these detractors I have but one question, and it’s quite simple: 

“Who the hell is going to play shortstop???  

With the bases loaded and one out in the ninth, is their another shortstop you’d like to see diving for a ball hit hard in the hole?

I think not.

And the Phillies are a lovable but somewhat stoic bunch.  Who’s gonna be the sparkplug?  The guy not afraid to tell the world (and the first place Mets at the time) that “We’re the team to beat.”

Now I love Chase Utley as much as the next guy but is HE going to spout that team-(and fan)-rallying motto?

I think not.

And on the big stage, in the big game, when the pressure is on and the spotlight glares bright.  That’s when Jimmy Rollins really shines.

In 2008, you all remember that year, right?  Well, Jimmy hit lead-off home runs in series clinching wins in both Milwaukee and Los Angeles.  And no one could forget his electrifying two-out double in Game 4 of the 2009 NLCS against the Dodgers “unhittable” Jonathan Broxton.

And even in 2011 during a playoff series where the offense was certainly scuffling, Jimmy tried to be a catalyst, hitting .450 with 9 hits, including 4 doubles, 6 runs scored and 2 stolen bases.  Is there another shortstop you’d like to see in those spots?

I think not.

So I don’t know if Ruben has another sneaky deal up his sleeve.  The prevailing wisdom is not this year.  But whatever, or whoever, else he may bring back to Philadelphia, I hope he returns with a deal done with #11 in his pocket.

I, for one, want to see Jimmy Rollins back out there next year, making his bold predictions, grabbing those balls that are almost in left field and doing his patented jump turn move as he fires to first.  Not to mention the big smile he flashes when the play is done.  After all, he knows he’s playing a game and he’s having fun.

And so are we.

 I wanted to share a review I just got for my new eBook “The Cure.”  (And it’s not from a family member 🙂  Just search amazon.com for  The Cure: Phillies and you’ll find it. And since so many people have been asking.  NO, YOU DON’T NEED A KINDLE TO READ IT.  AMAZON HAS A FREE AP TO ALLOW YOU TO READ IT ON ANY PC, MAC, IPAD, IPHONE, BLACKBERRY.  YOU NAME IT.

…just finished reading, “The Cure: Learn to Love the Phillies Again.”  It is flat out awesome!!!!!  I can’t  wait for pitchers and catchers and do it all over again in 2012. 

You have a gift with writing and glad you shared it with me.  What a fun read here on the plane!   (laughed out loud when I read that spencer gave up the phillies for lent)

So true about comparing baseball to life…thanks for helping me remember the good things around us. 

Thanks to all of you who have already read “The Cure.”  If you haven’t yet, what are you waiting for?  At $2.99 they’re going fast.  (I guess you can’t really say that about an eBook but it sounded good.)

5 Responses to “‘Tis the Season (For the Winter Meetings)”

  1. Ray December 5, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Im with you Susan, lets try to keep Jimmy. I agree we need that personality in the clubhouse too !!!!! I guess we shall see what the Phillies think over the next week. (fingers crossed…)

    • girlsbestphriend December 5, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

      And now that Reyes is gone, maybe it will happen sooner not later! By the way, the new Miami Marlines have definitely improved themselves with Heath Bell and now Reyes.

  2. Ray December 6, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    Looks like we may need to cross fingers and toes, if you believe the articles that say the meeting with J-rols agent didn’t go well.

    I also read that the Marlins want to talk to Pujols, apparently they have some money to spend this year………

    • girlsbestphriend December 7, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

      I know. The Marlins are going crazy. Can you imagine if they get Bell, Reyes and Pujols. 10 years is a long time, though! Crazy times. I don’t know what to think.

  3. Lea Dickler December 16, 2011 at 2:10 am #

    I was reading and deleting old e-mails and I couldn’t believe I missed this one!!! As usual it was great!!! Love your enthusiasm, and style. I miss your dailies!!! You go girl!!!

Leave a Reply

