Things I’m Pondering

22 Jan

Although there is  snow on the ground, a fire in my fireplace and football on TV, I am still thinking about baseball.

Although there are still 28 days (but who’s counting) until pitchers and catchers report to Spring Training and 75 days until the first real game on April 5th, I am still thinking about baseball.

Although I took a break from blogging (sorry about that) for a brief foray into the world of e-books, I am still thinking about baseball.

What have I been thinking you may ask?  Well here are just a few of the questions I have been pondering during the time I’ve been away:

 

Is Jim Thome as happy to be a Phillie again as we are to have him back?

Shouldn’t Ryan Madson’s agent Scott Boras pay Madson the difference between the Phillies 4-year 44 million dollar deal he turned down and the one year 8.5 million dollar deal he was forced to sign with the Cincinnati Reds?

Is the complete radio silence there has been about the health of Chase Utley’s knee a good sign or a bad one?

Is it a coincidence that Hunter Pence, Cole Hamels and Placido Polanco all had sports hernia surgery after the 2011 season?  I didn’t know sports hernias were contagious.

How long has Roy Halladay already been in Clearwater doing his pre-season work-out regimen?

Does the wait for the start of Spring Training seem longer this year because the Eagles’ season was such a disaster?

Will Ryan Howard, returning from his achilles injury, have more than 15 home runs by the All-Star Break?

Will Reuben Amaro have any more tricks up his sleeve now that Ed Wade has joined the Phillies front office staff as a “special consultant?”  Actually I thought Wade was a pretty good “special consultant” for the Phillies while he was still with the Astros.

Will the temperature on Opening Day be above or below 45 degrees?

Has anyone been following the 76’ers during this Phillies lull?  Despite last night’s loss to the Heat, they’ve been playing inspiring basketball and are a blast to watch.

Have you all bought “The Cure:  Learn to Love the Phillies Again” yet?  If not, what the heck are you waiting for?  Just click on the link in my Blogroll to the right.

(Can’t blame a girl for asking.)

Stay warm and keep those Phillies phires burning.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Things I’m Pondering”

  1. geetie cohen January 22, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    Well said as always
    I too have been counting days
    ANTICIPATION !

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler January 24, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      I always hear Carly Simon and see ketchup when you say Anticipation.

  2. Ray January 23, 2012 at 12:02 am #

    Susan,

    Ahhhh, a blog post to respond to. It’s been a while, this is good for my blog withdrawal.

    Only 28 days…yeah. Can’t go by quick enough. Time to start marking off the days on the calendar.

    I’ll spare you answers to every question…lol. But yes, the sixers have been doing well and did great coming back after being down the first two quarters on Friday night.

    Yes, I have read it several times now. Hopefully all of your blog readers have ( and if you haven’t, what are you waiting for.

    Keep the blogs coming Susan, it’s been a long off season.

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler January 24, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      Hi Ray,
      Nice to hear from you.I hope all is well and your year is off to a good start. I’ll try to write more often when I have something to say! It’s been a quieter off-season than last year but it will only make us more ready when things finally start to heat up.

Leave a Reply

