The Countdown Begins

10 Feb

In less than 10 days, Phillies pitchers and catchers will report to Clearwater for the start of Spring Training.  Those screams of joy you’re hearing are coming from my living room where I now sit with a fire going and snow falling.  Yes, it has been a loooong off-season but now with less than ten days to go I thought it would be fun to list the ten things I am most looking forward to in this Phillies season:

10)    I’m looking forward to the sights of green grass and men in uniform (take your mind out of the gutter.)

9)      I’m looking forward to hearing Charlie Manuel’s first, “and at the same time…”

8)      I’m looking forward to J-Roll‘s first “this game is fun” smile.

7)      I’m looking forward to seeing Leslie Gudel‘s reports live from Spring Training on Daily News Live.

6)      I’m looking forward to hearing Sports Talk Radio debate who should bat lead off for the Phillies instead of who should be the coach of the Eagles.

5)      I’m looking forward to the first radio banter between Scott Franzke and LA.

4)      I’m looking forward to having baseball games to watch almost every night with daylight lasting till almost the 5th inning.

3)     I’m looking forward to my first ball park hot dog and Coors Light.

2)     I’m looking forward to Jim Thome‘s first at bat back in a Phillies uniform once again.

1)     I’m looking forward to the Doc‘s first surgical outing as he carves up the opposition.

I’m looking forward to Ryan Howard‘s return to the lineup and hoping it will be sooner rather than later.

I’m looking forward to seeing how Phillies fans will find a way into Nationals Park for the Phillies opening series of the season despite the fact that the Nationals ticket office is refusing to allow ticket purchases made with a Philadelphia credit card.  Isn’t that illegal?  Or at least un-American?  If they want to fill their ball park with Nationals fans, shouldn’t the solution be for those fans to just buy the tickets so there wouldn’t be any left for anyone else?

OK, so that’s more than 10.  Didn’t I mention it was a long off-season?

But it won’t be much longer because today,

The Countdown Begins!

6 Responses to “The Countdown Begins”

  1. Wendy Branzburg February 10, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    Already have our Nationals Tix and saving our snowballs in the freezer until the May 5th game!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 10, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

      Hey Wendy.
      I’m impressed. How did you do it? And don’t forget to wear your Phillies red!

  2. Ray February 10, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    Susan,

    Ahhhh yes, only 10 days….it has seemed like an eternity !!!!

    As always, well said. You know to write exactly what we are all thinking, are all waiting for.

    I totally agree about the Nats. C’mon, if you are worried about filling up YOUR home park, fill it with your home fans…how silly a notion is saying that if you live in a certain area, you arent permitted to purchase our tickets. Just when you think you might have seen every silly thing an organization can do…well, they suprise you with something like this…wow……..

    Looking forward to the new season and the new season of blog posts !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 10, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      Thanks, Ray. I’m warming up my fingers. I need Spring Training too, I think but I’ll do my best.

  3. geetie cohen February 10, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

    I’ve been counting days for awhile.I’ll add another thing I’m looking forward to, more regular blog posts. Oh., and a great season !!!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler February 10, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      Thanks. I will try to live up to all the expectations. I’m starting to feel like last year’s Phillies!

Leave a Reply

