Today I Digress

1 Mar

As many of you know from time to time I use my  bloogers’ license and reserve the right to digress.  Well today is one of those days.  The Phillies beat the Florida State Seminoles 6-1 Wednesday in a game that featured many young pitchers we don’t know yet but maybe will some day.  And that concludes my baseball report.

But something else happened yesterday.  Something I feel compelled to write about.  After the deaths of the likes of Whitney Houston and Michael Jackson, this musician may seem to pale in comparison.  In fact, there were always some who questioned whether he was even a musician at all.

But not me.  For me, a part of my childhood died yesterday with the passing of Davy Jones.  For those much younger than I, Davy Jones was the lead singer of the Monkees.  They were a rock group actually cast by a TV producer to star in a television show about the comical exploits of a  musical group trying to make it.  In the show, the Monkees never quite hit it big but in the real world, they were off the charts.

The series premiered in 1966 to take advantage of the Beatles teenybopper craze.  But I am not too ashamed to admit that for me, long before I learned to appreciate the Beatles, I was a Monkees fan to my core.  My sisters and I even joined the various fan clubs of our favorite Monkees.  One liked Micky, one liked Peter (does the phrase,  “Tork babysitting for my babies” ring a bell, doll?)

But for me, it was always Davy.  Now I was not prone to teen star crushes in those days but Davy was different.  I loved everything about him.  He was small (so was I,) he was cute and of course he had that British accent thing going for him.  We had all their albums (yes, children, I mean albums!)  and probably some 45’s (google it!,) too and we played them over and over singing along at the top of our lungs.  Ah, the good old days.

Some of our favorites?  “Hey, Hey We’re the Monkees,” of course, the one that started it all.  When you hear that song in your mind, don’t you still see those silly pictures from the open to their tv show?  Then there was Last Train to Clarksville, Daydream Believer, which had its rebirth with the movie Shrek.  I Wanna Be Free was one of my personal favorites, of course, since it was a Davy Jones solo.  And remember I’m Not Your Steppin‘ Stone (“I-I-I-I-I’m not your stepping sto-one,”) Mary, Mary, Another Pleasant Valley Sunday…..    Ok, I’m stopping now.

But thinking of those songs and hearing them in my head (as I will do all day today,) really takes me back to a place and a time.  It was a good place, a happy place, and perhaps a simpler time.  A time when listening to the music of a sixties rock group gave us joy.  Manufactured or not, dubbed or not, it didn’t really matter.  All that mattered was  the music.  And it made us happy and brought us closer together.

So this is how I’ll choose to remember my favorite teenage rock star:

“Laughing in the sun

Always having fun

Doing all those things

Without any strings

To tie (you) down.”

Thanks, Davy!  Rest in peace.

7 Responses to “Today I Digress”

  1. geetie cohen March 1, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    Amen. The Monkees have a special place in my heart too. I’m certainly too old to claim fandom (is that a word?) but the songs are in my head, because I certainly can’t sing them .

  2. Rodd Bender March 1, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Nice reminiscence Susan. Last Train to Clarksville was my favorite. If you want a Davy fix today and have satellite radio, ’60s on 6 is playing the Monkees every 30 minutes.

    • girlsbestphriend March 1, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

      Thanks, Rodd. No satellite for me so I’ll just have to sing them in my head.

  3. Ray March 1, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    Susan,

    I remember watching Monkees reruns all through my childhood and I am even old enough (did i really just admit that…….) to remember 45’s and having to play them on mom and dads record player, without scratching it (lots of flak from mom and dad when you scratched records…). The beauty of music is that you can listen to it anytime, and reminisce about those simpler times in ones life 🙂

    Ray

  4. Erin Dickler March 2, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    I was in love with Dave’s jones. He was so,dreamy, we were singing the songs this week. Thanks for the reminder that it was cool to be a monkeys fan,

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler March 3, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

      Hey,
      If you were a fan, it HAD to be cool!

      xo

Leave a Reply

