Is It Just Me???

11 Mar

Is it just me…

Or does Phillies Spring Training this year seem oddly quiet?  After all the hype and hoopla surrounding last year’s ‘Four Aces’ when every time Cliff Lee stubbed his toe or Roy Halladay broke a nail it was front page news, this Spring seems to be flying  a bit under the radar.  (And by the way, I’m not saying that’s a bad thing after the target the Phils had on their backs last year from Day 1!)

Is it just me…

Or is this whole Chase Utley scenario starting to feel eerily familiar.  Ruben Amaro’s “we’re just keeping him off his feet” as a precaution reminds me way too much of the “overall body soreness” excuse they used last year until finally admitting that Utley had a major knee injury.  And hasn’t he been ‘off his feet’ for 5 months already?  I’m all for precaution but I think it’s a bit odd that as of this writing Chase has yet to play in a single pre-season game and his activity has been strictly limited to batting practice and playing catch.

It is just me…

Or is Jonathan Papelbon not likely to be on the Christmas lists of any of his former Boston fans.  After his recent remarks that “Boston fans are a little more hysterical when it comes to the game of baseball” and that Phillies fans ”tend to know the game a little better being in the National League, you know, the way the game is played,”  he’s probably heard his last cheers in Beantown.

Is it just me…

Or is everyone thanking our lucky stars (or Ruben Amaro) that we have Hunter Pence.  Not only do you gotta love the way he’s hitting you gotta love the stuff he says.  Pence “loved the Cleveland Indians” as a kid and he idolized Jim Thome.  When he got to the big leagues, Pence even used to imitate Thome’s game preparation.  “He does the whole ‘light the cork on fire’ old school eye-black.  Every time I put it on , “I’m like , “I’m… back in the day with Jim Thome…this is the war paint.”  And how is it having his former idol as his current teammate?  “It’s definitely awesome, I told him.”

And speaking of playing with your idols,

Is it just me…

Or is anyone else rooting for Dontrelle Willis to make the team?  In a recent interview Willis said that being on the same team with Jimmy Rollins (they grew up in the same neighborhood) is a dream come true.  “When I was in high school , everybody wanted to be like Jimmy.”  (Take that Michael Jordan!)  He told a story that when Jimmy’s dad was teaching him how to switch hit “he paid us $20 a day to shag for him.  It takes a village to rise a kid, so I owe his family a great deal.  It goes full circle, because now we’re teammates, and it’s good to see everything he’s done for the city.”  Willis went on to say that despite his very public ups and downs earlier in his career he feels incredibly lucky to play the game he loves and he called being on the Phillies with Rollins “a blessing.”

So I, for one, am hoping that the “D-Train” has a couple more runs down that track still left in him.

Is it just me…

Or are you about done with this post by now?  Good.  Me, too.

Have a great Sunday.

8 Responses to “Is It Just Me???”

  1. Matthew Karns March 11, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    I recently bought your short book “The Cure” for my Kindle Fire and thoroughly loved it and look forward to each and every blog you will write this season. You are a true Philies Phan (like ) and it is great to share your insights into our Phils and the best game ever invented, the game of Baseball! Keep the wonderful thoughts and insights coming!

    • girlsbestphriend March 11, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      Hey Matthew (or do you go by Matt,)
      Welcome aboard! Thanks so much for taking the time to write those comments about “The Cure.” You really made my day, actually my week. It’s so nice to hear that my little book resonated with others. Kind of makes it all worth while! So keep on reading and keep on commenting! Thanks again.

  2. Bob March 11, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    The last I remember from my school days is that a “D” sucks. I much prefer to board the A Train as opposed to the D train. Willis will soon be the D’moted Train.

    • girlsbestphriend March 12, 2012 at 1:21 am #

      What’s with all the negativity? Maybe he’ll be the little engine that could!

  3. Lea Dickler March 12, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    It is not just you!!!!You have got me so excited that I am learning about all these players, I feel so informed. Keep it up!

  4. Re Panico March 12, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    I love this post SCD.
    It made me smile!!
    I did not know that about Hunter and Thome and JRoll and Dontrelle!!

    • girlsbestphriend March 12, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      Hey Re,
      I’m so glad you read the blog. I love stuff like Hunter idolizing Thome. Pretty cool. Check out my book if you haven’t. I think you’ll like it. Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

