San Francisco Here We Come

17 Apr

We beat the freak in San Francisco

We scored some runs, the Doc went eight.

Let’s start a streak in San Francisco.

Just wish the games weren’t so damn late.

♦          ♦          ♦

 Thought I’d start things off this morning with a little Tony Bennett, in case you didn’t recognize my version of his iconic, ”I Left My Heart in San Francisco.”

Like the Doc, I only went eight last night but left the game in the so far quite capable hands of Jonathan Papelbon who is now 3-3 in save opportunities.  As for  winning pitcher Roy Halladay,  he still sees lots of room for improvement.

“The tough part is you’re frustrated at yourself when you don’t make pitches you want to make…. I feel like at times early on I get caught trying to make something better than it should be and getting away from what I should be doing. Really, I think that’s the biggest thing, staying within myself and not trying to make better pitches than I need to.”

Sounds like the guy’s off to a rough start, right?  How about 3-0 with a 1.17 ERA.  And that, my friends. is why Roy Halladay is the best pitcher in baseball.

JUST KEEP WORKING AT IT DOC. YOU'LL GET THERE.

As for the offense, the Phillies did catch a break in the first when Placido Polanco hit a fly ball that should have been caught but instead fell in for a double but that’s the way the ball bounces sometimes.  They went on to score four runs in the first which was all the Doc would need.  The Phillies scored five runs total yesterday and eight the day before, a good sign for an offense that has been inconsistent, to say the least, in the early going.

And did I mention the Doc had an RBI, too?  Though I’m sure he sees room for improvement there as well.  Look for him in the batting cages today taking some extra swings.

And you can look for me on the sofa taking an extra nap with hopes of making it through the whole game tonight!

4 Responses to “San Francisco Here We Come”

  1. Displaced Phan April 17, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    Ugh, I won’t be able to see any games until maybe Friday. They start at 11:30 here. At the end of the season, it’ll be 12:30. I keep missing the good Phillies games and seeing the garbage ones. Maybe I’m a jinx this year.

    • girlsbestphriend April 17, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

      I know the feeling. But somehow I don’t think it’s you. 🙂

  2. Ray April 17, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Wow, you made it eight innings, I didnt even make it one…LOL.

Leave a Reply

