Nobody Says It Better

6 May

Funny thing about writing a blog. Sometimes I wake up with an idea in my head for the morning post and I hop out of bed so I can get it down while it’s still fresh.  Other times I have an idea in advance of a different structure or concept I want to try.  There are even those mornings when I sit down at the keyboard, start typing and just let my feelings flow.

And then there are those times when I find myself just staring at my MacBook Air, my mind as slow as a Jamie Moyer fastball.  (At least he can still use his to get the job done.)  This morning is one of those times.  It’s not that I haven’t ben thinking.  All morning I’ve been trying to come up with an idea, a funny phrase, a shocking statistic or a piercing analysis of the team, but so far….nothing.

Add to that a computer snafu that lost everything I just wrote and you have my morning in a nutshell.

So here I sit thinking and there you sit waiting (sorry.)

It is on a morning like this one that I turn to a baseball icon for help.  If the great Yogi Berra doesn’t have a quote that will break me out of my slump, I don’t know who will.  You’re up, Yogi:

You’ve got to be very careful if you don’t know where you are going, because you might not get there.” 

Truer words have never been spoken about both this morning’s post and our baseball team.  The Phillies don’t seem to know who they are or where they’re going.  After losing two in a row to the first place Washington Nationals, they find themselves back in last place, 5 1/2 games behind.  The only good thing that has happened so far this week-end is the failure of the Nationals much publicized  “Take Back the Park” week-end.

I saw and heard Phillies fans everywhere and personally know many who went to these games including some GBF readers!  (Sorry, Nat.  I hope you managed to have a god trip anyway.)  As Yogi so eloquently said:

“If people don’t want to come out to the ball park, nobody’s gonna stop ’em.” 

Frankly, it’s the Nationals I’m more concerned about stopping right now.  And so is  our resident manager, Charlie Manuel, who sounded a bit Yogi-esque yesterday:

“If you get too far back, you get too far back.”  

I couldn’t have said it better myself, Charlie.  But somehow I’m sure Yogi can:

“The other teams could make trouble for us if they win.” 

OK, I guess I’m not the only one lacking in shrewd analysis this morning.

The good news, if there is any, is that despite their back-to-back losses in the nation’s capital, the offense has shown more consistent signs of life; Cliff Lee will be returning soon; and Ryan Howard has started his rehab stint in Clearwater with Chase Utley allegedly not far behind.

And it is a long season, right?  To use one of my favorite baseball phrases:  “It’s a marathon, not a sprint.”

But of course, as always, Yogi says it better:

“It ain’t over ’til it’s over.”

Let’s hope he’s right or another Yogi-ism may sadly apply:

“The future ain’t what it used to be.”

Say it ain’t so, Yogi.  Please say it ain’t so!

“I didn’t really say everything I said.”

Thanks, Yogi, we needed that!

One Response to “Nobody Says It Better”

  1. Ray May 6, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    Susan,

    Thank you for saying what I’m sure both I and the rest of your readers are thinking. Since you said it, I don’t have to say anything today 🙂

    Go Phillies, Go Flyers

Leave a Reply

