Oh What A Night!

19 May

It was magical.  It was beautiful.  It was truly amazing.  Watching well-coached young performers at the top of their game.  You might even say it was a religious experience.

The Phillies?  The Sixers?

Nope.  My 16-year-old son’s Confirmation from Hebrew School.  That was the event my family and I attended last night.  And I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.  (Especially since I could DVR the other two.)

In fact, we arrived home proud and exhilarated and immediately turned on the Sixers.  The game was tied at 74  with about 4 minutes left.  We didn’t even change out of our dress clothes.  My son was in his suit, purple shirt tail hanging out.  (Yes, I said purple.  And believe me, he can rock it.)  And I was still in my skirt (black, of course) and heels.  Well, I ditched the heels but we all just plopped down in our assigned seats in the den to watch the end of the game.

We yelled, we screamed, we fist pumped as we watched our Philadelphia 76ers, given up for dead after a dismal first half, come all the way back from an 18 point deficit to beat the mighty Boston Celtics and tie their Playoff series at two games apiece.  And you thought the oil burning for eight days was a miracle?

Although my son received several well-deserved gifts last night,  I think his Sixers winning was the greatest gift of all.

And there is another team that seems to be coming back from the dead these days.  The Phillies, too, played their part in last night’s Boston Beatdown on Broad Street.  Cole Hamels on the mound, Babe Ruth, I mean Carlos Ruiz at the plate, need I say more?

Well, actually I can’t since I haven’t had a chance to watch that one yet although I was able to stay up long enough to see the Phillies four-run first.  But I do know that the Fightins have won six in a row and after a painfully slow start, their 21-19 record looks pretty good right now.

So to re-cap, David beat Goliath, the Phillies seem to be resurrected and my son hit one out of the park!

Oh what a night!

5 Responses to “Oh What A Night!”

  1. Spencer May 19, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    CLAP YOUR HANDS!!! EVERYBODY!! FOR THE PHILADELPHIA!! 76ERS!!!!!!!! Thanks for the shout out mommy- your posts somehow seem to get better and better, I don’t know how you do it.
    ❤ ❤ ❤
    Spencie

  2. Ray May 19, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    Susan,

    Congrats to your son !!!!!!

  3. frumi July 26, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    A wonderful tribute to your by Spencer and hope and inspiration for underdogs everywhere.

    • girlsbestphriend July 27, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

      Thanks. I just liked being able to call it a “religious experience.”

      xo

Leave a Reply

