What A Difference A Year Makes

23 May

As I sat through yet another dismal Phillies loss last night, I shook my head and said to my trusty dog Tito (the only one brave enough to watch with me,) “It’s hard to believe this is the same team that won a record 102 games last season.”   Then, I realized something.

It’s not.

Let’s face it.  With names like Mike Fontenot, Eric Kratz, Ty Wigginton and Hector Luna, this is not the Phillies team we expected to see take the field.  And though it is still a long season, there are some ominous signs all pointing in the wrong direction.

When I’m bemoaning the loss of  Wilson Valdez… that is definitely not a good sign.

When light-hitting rookie Freddy Galvis has the third most RBI on the team… that is not a good sign.

When Roy Halladay loses for the first time in a decade to the Washington Nationals (the last time he lost to them, they were the Montreal Expos,)… that is not a good sign.

When reporters are being removed from the team’s  Spring Training complex so they can’t see Ryan Howard field ground balls… that is not a good sign.

When the Phillies are 5-38 with runners in scoring position during a downright awful 4 game losing streak… that is definitely not a good sign.

When I’m forced to watch Donald Driver do the cha-cha on Dancin’ With the Stars because I just can’t take it any more…  that is not a good sign.

When Cliff Lee still doesn’t have his first win 44 games into the season, isn’t that one of the signs of the Apocalypse?

When it’s almost Memorial Day and there is still no timetable for the return of either Ryan Howard or Chase Utley… that is a downright scary sign.

So I turned to my dog, Tito, for comfort.  Surely he would make me feel a bit better.  But Tito had a sign of his own:

 

4 Responses to “What A Difference A Year Makes”

  1. Ron Cori May 23, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    I feel your pain. Great article…

  2. geetie cohen May 23, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    I’m sure you’ve heard the expression about making lemonade when you’ve been handed lemons.Well you’ve done just that with your blog about our hapless Phillies.Who knew Tito was so astute???

Leave a Reply

