Two for Two

24 May

“We’re talking about practice man. We’re talking about practice. We’re talking about practice. We’re not talking about the game. We’re talking about practice.”

Nope, don’t worry AI, (the original,) I’m talking about a game.  Actually two games.  And even better, two wins.  But we’ll get to your Philadelphia 76ers in a minute, I mean paragraph or two. Let’s start with the Fightins, who lately have not lived up to that spunky nickname to say the least.

Last night, however, they got a badly needed victory on the backs of the two players who have carried this team all season long.  I shudder to think how many games out the Phillies might be today if not for Cole Hamels and Carlos RuizHamels, who didn’t give up a hit until the 6th, allowed only four hits in eight shut-out innings to improve to 7-1 on the season.

“When you come to the arena, and you see me play, you’ve seen me play right, you’ve seen me give everything I’ve got, but we’re talking about practice  right   now .“

Yes, we have seen you play and there’s no question you always gave it your all on the court.  But the Phillies have their own answer this year and they call him, “Choooooooch.

Being inserted in the cleanup spot in the line-up for the first time in his career last night, didn’t phase Carlos Ruiz.  The Phillies catcher went 3-for-4 last night to raise his average to .357!  He leads all National League catchers with seven home runs, 29 RBIs and 71 total bases.  So if you haven’t done that All-Star voting assignment yet (Thanks, Shirley!) you better get clicking, especially since I have more homework for you later in this post.

So the Phillies got the night started salvaging a win against the first place Nationals while across the way, that other Philadelphia team was still scuffling.

I mean listen, we’re sitting here talking about practice, not a game, not a game, not a game, but we’re talking about practice. Not the game that I go out there and die for and play every game like it’s my last but we’re talking about practice man. How silly is that?”

OK, Ok, like I told you before, it IS a game.  But you’re right about one thing, Allen. Your old team did have to play this game like it might be their last because if they lost, it was.

But the 76ers weren’t ready to go home quite yet.  They gave the legend-filled Boston Celtics team everything they could ask for and forced a Game 7 on Saturday with an 82-75 victory last night.  Allen Iverson’s pre-game appearance got things started and this gutty, won’t-quit Sixers team took it from there.  Hey, maybe we should call them the Fightins.

Hey I hear you, it’s funny to me too, hey it’s strange to me too but we’re talking about practice man, How the hell can I make my teammates better by practicing?”

OK.  That’s it.  If  “The Answer” doesn’t know the answer to that one, I give up.  But luckily there was no giving in last night, by either team.

◊          ♦          ◊          ♦          ◊

Now on a personal note,

I will be gone starting tomorrow to attend my daughter’s college graduation.  We are staying at an inn called The Cabin in the Woods.  High-speed internet access?  I think not.  So odds are, I will be out of touch.  But I have something for you to do to fill all that blog-reading time.  After the rousing response to my Tito picture, now it’s your turn.  Take pictures of your pet(s) sharing your Philadelphia sports pride.  Be creative.  I’ll be featuring them in an upcoming blog post.

 Have a great holiday week-end everyone!

6 Responses to “Two for Two”

  1. Ron Cori May 24, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    How can I get some pix to you?

    • girlsbestphriend May 24, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

      Hi Ron,
      You’re probably sick of hearing from me now. But just in case. Send a jpeg to scd@banyan.com. Happy to have you along!!

  2. Ray May 24, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    Susan,

    Congrats to your daughter!!!! Have a great holiday weekend.

    You may suffer from withdrawl from being electronically disconnected; however, getting off the grid is good sometimes 🙂

  3. Michael Gillen May 25, 2012 at 1:03 am #

    Have a great time out there in the woods, and especially at that graduation! Congrats to you ALL!

Leave a Reply

