The Awarding of Degrees

29 May

Well, I’m back and it was quite a weekend.  To be honest, I’m suffering from a bit of a post-Commencement hangover.  It’s not what you’re thinking.  I wish it was.  There was no drinking or other fun activities involved.  I just woke up with a headache that I hope won’t prove to be a migraine so forgive me if i’m a bit brief but I wanted to check in.

First of all, thanks to all of you who sent us such lovely good wishes.  They were much appreciated.  It was a memorable weekend in many ways.

The 76ers played hard till the end and can hold their heads high (even if my poor son could not, immediately following their tough 7th game loss to the Celtics.)

 The Phillies had the kind of weekend that makes me think, perhaps I need to leave town more often.

And my daughter, well my daughter ‘won it all’ this weekend.  But more on that later.

And since I’m still in a “Commencement State of Mind” I thought this morning would be a good time to give out some honorary degrees.

Let’s start with your Philadelphia 76ers.

Despite my last post I am delighted to present the Alumni Medal of Honor to:

Allen Iverson

Say what you will, he came to the 6th game when his old team needed him the most and did his best to get the crowd going.  He even stayed to watch the game (when he might have been elsewhere partying with his posse) to cheer his team on to victory.  So this one goes to AI for “answering” the call.

The award for Distinguished Service to the Community (yes these are real awards, straight out of the program) goes to:

76ers CEO, Adam Aron

Aron, along with the new ownership group, not only brought this team back to respectability but, through his tireless efforts, he made it cool again to be a Sixers fan.  Let’s hope the offseason will bring us more reasons to “Clap our hands…”

Receiving an honorary degree as Doctor of Humanities and Inspiration with a Minor in the Fine Art of the Press Conference (ok, some of that one is made up) goes to, you guessed it:

Coach Doug Collins

If you’ve read my blog before, (or seen a Doug Collins Press Conference) there is no explanation needed for this one.

And my final Sixers Award is my favorite.

It is the Athletic Leadership Heart of a Lion Award which in this case goes to a man man who played through pain but still gave it everything he had every time he was on the court, a man who led by example, a man who has likely played his last game as a Sixer:

Elton Brand

If the rumors are true and the Sixers choose to amnesty Brand for next season, in my eyes, he will graduate with distinction.

Well, this post is getting a bit long, so you’ll have to come back tomorrow when I will bestow my awards on the Phillies along with some more graduation details including some pictures and a review of the famed “Cabin In the Woods.”  You don’t want to miss that!

Important note:  Thanks to all those who sent me their pet pix representing’ their sports team pride.  They’re great!  And for those who haven’t yet, what are you waiting for?  (I mean you Holly and Phil and Frumi and Noa) and anyone else who has a pet or grand-pet of any kind.  You don’t want your furry friend to be left out of the fun.  Please send your pet picture to my email address as a jpeg:  scd@banyan.com.

  Thanks!  And it’s good to be back.

2 Responses to “The Awarding of Degrees”

  1. Ray May 29, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    Susan,

    Welcome back to the “grid”. It sounds like you had a good weekend. Again, congrats to you and your daughter !!!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler May 31, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

      A belated thank you and the Phils play lately has ten an added bonus!

Leave a Reply

