It Could Be Worse

1 Jun

OK, I know what you’re thinking, what kind of black cat headline is that?  But with everything that has already happened this year, I scoff at black cat headlines.  I mean would you believe that the Phillies could possibly be only 3 games out of first place…

If I told you that:

we’re almost a third of the way through the season and Cliff Lee still does not have a SINGLE WIN!

If I told you that:

For the first 40 games this Phillies offense seemed to think that the team with the fewest runs won the game.

If I told you that:

Ryan Howard and Chase Utley have yet to even make a rehab start.  And the timetable for their return is as closely guarded as your grandmother’s recipe for chicken soup.

You never would have believed me if I told you that:

Joe Blanton at 4-5 would have the same  record as Roy Halladay who is now out of action for 6-8 weeks.

(In fact, I still don’t believe that one.)

or that:

catcher Carlos Ruiz would be leading the team in almost every offensive category and batting .371 on June 1st.

or that:

“light-hitting” rookie Freddy Galvis would be among the Phillies leaders in RBI’s ahead of Jimmy Rollins, Placido Polanco and John Mayberry, Jr. 

or that:

poor Charlie Manuel would have already trotted out more cleanup hitters than Albert Pujols has home runs.

(And that’s no exaggeration!)

But one thing I definitely could have predicted is that since I’m going to the game tonight, guess who will be on the mound?

My designated pitcher, so it seems, Kyle Kendrick.

But let’s be fair.  I never would have predicted that on a pitching staff that includes Cliff Lee, Roy Halladay and Cole Hamels the only Phillies pitchers to have complete game shut-outs this season?

Joe Blanton and…wait for it…my man, Kyle Kendrick.

You just can’t make this stuff up.  And that’s baseball.

I’ll have a hot dog for you tonight!

2 Responses to “It Could Be Worse”

  1. Ray June 1, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Susan,

    I believe, but..some of items I’d rather not….lolol. What a wacky wacky season so far. Its a long season, not quite time for any emergency button worries.

    I shall be at the Iron Pigs game tonight (weather permitting), so I shall share in having that hot dog with you !!

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler June 1, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

      Looks like our hot dogs will be a bit wet!

Leave a Reply

