What Was That Last Night?

9 Jun
Win  (win)

v. wonwin·ningwins
v.intr.

1. To achieve victory or finish first in a competition.
2. To achieve success in an effort or venture: struggled to overcome the handicap and finally won.

It has been so long since we’ve  heard that word, I thought a little refresher course was in order.  Let me use it in a sentence for you:

Cliff Lee had to ask Joe Blanton what it was like to win a game.

There, does that help?

I don’t know about you, but until the final out was recorded last night, I still wasn’t convinced the Phillies were going to win that game.  (Hey, that’s a bonus sentence for you.)   In fact, it’s painful to even watch my favorite team play this year.  And I don’t think I’m alone.  So in an effort to find some perspective to get us through these tough times, I turn to some experts for help.  And who better to start with than the legendary coach of the Green Bay Packers.  He knows a thing or two about winning.

Winning is habit. Unfortunately, so is losing.                                                                                                                                           Vince Lombardi

OK, that’s not exactly the kind of inspiration I was looking for, Coach.  Believe me, no one knows losing better than we do.  Our Phillies just lost 6 in a row in every way imaginable.   What happened to the old “It’s not whether you win or lose, it’s how you play the game”  mentality.  I always liked that one.

If winning isn’t everything, why do they keep score?                                                                                                        Vince Lombardi

OK, OK, I get your point.  It’s clear Mr. Lombardi won’t offer us much comfort this morning.  Maybe I’m looking in the wrong place.  Perhaps a politician will offer a more PC point of view.

Winning may not be everything, but losing has little to recommend it.                      California Senator, Dianne Feinstein

Et tu, Dianne?  And I always liked Ms. Feinstein.

But there must be someone who can help.  Let’s give an expert in the world of business a try.

Victory is sweetest when you’ve known defeat.                                                                                                              Malcolm Forbes

Now, that’s more like it.  And if that’s the case, last night’s win was sweeter than Manischewitz wine (replace with cotton candy if your wine cellar does not include that Passover favorite.)

But for the last word on the subject, there is really only one man to ask:

“Winning.”

“The only thing I’m addicted to right now is winning.”

Yep, you guessed it, those pithy little phrases come from none other than the  patron saint of winning, Charlie Sheen.  And I can’t believe I’m saying this but that’s the one addiction Charlie and I share.

Let’s hope our Phillies do, too.

One Response to “What Was That Last Night?”

  1. geetie cohen June 9, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    After the scoring outburst I was tempted to use one of my favorite expressions,”Save some for tomorrow”. As it turned out iIalso had little faith that they would win. It feels good to be wrong, once in awhile.

Leave a Reply

