Strike!

17 Jun

I don’t mean strike three. I mean she’s on strike. You know. The blog writer that you usually read in this space.

This is quite embarrassing. But after yesterday’s game it was the camel that broke the straws back. I know. I know. That’s not the right expression. Isn’t it horrible when your blog writer is on strike?

But there’s nothing I can do and I don’t know when she’ll be back. She just can’t bear to watch this team any longer. She can’t stand watching the Phillies have a lead and see it drizzled away one more time like yesterday.  And I don’t really think it was just the loss. It’s the way they’re playing.

It gives you the feeling that they’re going to lose more games than they’re going to win.  (Ok, I guess that’s me speaking.) It’s hard to root for a team when half of the people playing  are guys you never heard of.  And guys you certainly didn’t think would actually be playing every day for the Phillies.

Well you probably have a better idea of her frustration than even I do.  And I live with her. But you are her dear blog readers. And I know this is killing her more than it’s killing you but she just cannot do it one more day. One more pitch. One more loss.

Oh I know she’ll be back.  I know Carlos Ruiz will be back. I know that the Doc will be  back. I know that Ryan Howard will be back.  I’m not so sure about Chase Utley. There that was my only real comment for this blog.

But I know that this is a good day for her to go on strike. Because it’s also Father’s Day. And she has decided to spend the rest of the day completely focused on her second love. Me.

(But don’t worry, I’ll work on her.  She’ll be back.)
12 Responses to “Strike!”

  1. Ron Cori June 17, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Don’t leave me! I need another witness to this train wreck.

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler June 17, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

      Don’t worry, I can’t help myself. I guess we’ll just have to ride “the train” together. One thing’s for sure. It is a wreck!

  2. Ron Cori June 17, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    According to coolstandings.com, the Phils have a 9.0% chance of making the playoffs. Over or under?

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler June 17, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

      I was going to be optimistic and say over before today’s game.

  3. geetie cohen June 17, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    There is basketball tonight and if you are really desperate The Open this afternoon.Movie, Rock of Ages, a fun hour or so. Just trying to be helpful in your time of need.

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler June 17, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

      Thanks. After today’s debacle, I need all the help I can get.

  4. bjhauswald June 17, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    I know exactly how she feels! Returning to her former preoccupations will be much more enjoyable!!

    • girlsbestphriend June 17, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

      The only problem is I don’t have any former preoccupations. I was too busy obsessing over baseball!

  5. Sydney June 17, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    I’ll take a guest spot on your blog while your on strike 🙂

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler June 17, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      YOU GOT IT! Send me a post and I’ll put it up. Great idea!!

  6. 21dfflowr June 17, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    The golden era is OVER. Just think, they had one World Series ring against a very lightly regarded Tampa Bay team in a playoff year in which the best teams got knocked off by others. The decline will stop when they develop enough young players like other teams so they do not rely on overpriced, overaged, unreliable, oft-injured, not so “free” agents.

    • Susan Cohen-Dickler June 17, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

      Well, I agree about the needing to develop young players part. The “win now” philosophy can be short-sighted. But I don’t taint the World Series win. Let’s face it, to win it all a lot of things have to go your way, including luck. That was a great ride and a great Post Season. They deserve their rings and we deserved our parade. Come on, remember all the years when we weren’t even close to sniffing the playoffs?

Leave a Reply

