Call Me Mayberry: A Guest Blogger’s Song

20 Jun

The only thing better than a great, old-style Phillies win is to wake up and find a post from another guest blogger!  This one’s from my wonderful niece Sydney who just finished up her first year at Tulane.  She and her entire family are fans with a capital “ph.”  So I proudly offer you this morning, “Sydney’s Post.”

By the way, I am not too cool to admit (or make that uncool) that I was not familiar with the following song so I checked it out. It’s great and so is Syd’s version!  

◊     ◊

To the Tune of Call me Maybe

By Carly Rae Jepson 

Disclaimer: My name is Sydney and I am your usual blogger’s niece.  Despite our familial relationship, I did not receive the musical genes.  I am a Phillies enthusiast, but not a songwriter.  After Mayberry’s Homerun, our friends at Phillies Nation posted the Facebook status, “Call me Mayberry”, so I ran with that…  and for all of you who have yet to hear this gem of a song…. Here is the YouTube link. You’re welcome. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fWNaR-rxAic

◊     ◊

I threw a wish in the well,

Don’t ask me I’ll never tell,

I looked to Cole as it fell,

Put those Rockies away.

◊     ◊

I’d trade my soul for some hits,

And strikes into Chooch’s mitt,

An offense that commits,

And great de-fen-sive plays.

◊     ◊

Jimmy set the pace,

by sprintin’ ‘round third base

Cole re-mained our ace,

WHERE YOU THINK YOUR GOIN’ FREDDY?

◊     ◊

Hey, that’s my old team,

And it’s been scaaarrrrry,

But there’s the long ball,

Call him Mayberry!

◊     ◊

It’s wrong to leave out,

Our friends Pollyyyy,

And Pence who helped us,

Kill those Rockies.

◊     ◊

Hey, they’re back again,

A spark from Jayyyyyyy-Rolll,

But can we afford,

Shane on our payroll?

◊     ◊

And he’s got 9 homeruns,

His arm is craaazzyy,

So vote for Chooch,

OUR ALLSTAR BABY!

Thanks, Syd!  Great job.  You and  a Phillies win make a great team.  So if you ever get the itch to write a guest post for GBPH, follow Syd’s (and my other half’s) lead.  You can send them to my email:  scd@banyan.com.

Enjoy the win.  As we’ve learned the hard way, they don’t come every day!

3 Responses to “Call Me Mayberry: A Guest Blogger’s Song”

  1. geetie cohen June 20, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    It must be in the genes. Great job Sydney!!!!

  2. Eileen June 21, 2012 at 1:14 am #

    I am the original fan of “Junior”. From the minute he smacked his first home run on what I believe was his first major league at bat I was and am a believer. It’s common knowledge among my friends and family and yes they thought- and still think- I am crazy. I get texts whenever he delivers simply titled JUNIOR! ‘ya gotta believe.

  3. Drew June 21, 2012 at 5:31 am #

    Love it Syd! Well done.

Leave a Reply

